Scouts attain Eagle rank

Scouts attain Eagle rank An Eagle Scout Court of Honor was held May 26 at the W.H. Over Museum to award the rank of Eagle Scout to three area Scouts from Troop 66 of the Sioux Council of the Boy Scouts of America.

The recipients of the rank of Eagle Scout are Adam Nelson, son of Anthony and Paula Nelson, and Jason and Thomas Smith, sons of Terry and De Ann Smith.

The Eagle Scout rank is awarded to a Scout who has successfully completed requirements which include earning a total of at least 21 merit badges, having demonstrated the Scout oath and Scout law in everyday life and having served in a leadership capacity in their Scout troop. In addition, the Eagle Scout has to have completed a service project.

Nelson's service project was refurbishing the playground equipment built in 1938 at the Pleasant Valley Lutheran Church.

Jason Smith's service project was clearing brush and trees along the southern view of the Vermillion Senior Citizens Center.

Thomas Smith's service project was the construction of a fence and a sign for the Barton Cemetery.

The Eagle Scout Court of Honor program began with an invocation by the Rev. Don Imming. Royce Engstrom was the guest speaker for the event. Arthur Rusch gave the presentation of the Eagle Scout award and Dave Broodwell from Sioux Council presented the official proclamation. The program concluded with a benediction by the Rev. Elizabeth Johnson.

The Scouts from Troop 66 who have previously attained the rank of Eagle Scout are: Lee Gephart, George Goddard, Vernon Lyon, John Greene, Leroy Grenholz, Robert Jones, Donald Rothrock, Bud Benson, Bennt Westre, Richard Leach, Winston French, Gerald Crosby, Martin Chaney, Gordon Moore, Kris Noble, Scott McGregor, David Annis, Joseph Cash, Mark Michels, Kurtis Hanson, Don Habbe, Paul Sloan, John Emerson, Adrian Stone, Russel Stone, Donald Ufford, Alex Ufford, Paul Ellingstad, Chris Chaney, Sean Brady, Patrick Sunde, Matthew Rusch, Trevor Harper, Matthew Knutson, William Schroeder, Zebulon T. Lang, Michael Paulson, Tyler Engstrom, Raymond Ring III, Matthew Williams, Chris Harvey and Steve Giedosh.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>