First round win goes to Vermillion Post #1

First round win goes to Vermillion Post #1 The Lennox Post #174 team lost to Groton Post #39 in the exciting first game of the South Dakota American Legion Class B Tournament by a score of 23-12 to advance to the losers' bracket in the next round.

The score was 12-7 at the end of the seventh inning, but Groton plated 10 runs in the eighth and six more in the ninth, to put the game away.

Groton then played Southern Hills Post #71, who dominated Miller/Wessington 14-2 in five innings of game #3. Milbank Post #9 defeated Platte Post #115 in game #2 12-0 and faced Vermillion Post #1 in the second round.

The fourth game of day one involved Vermillion's Post #1 against Dell Rapids Post #65. The surroundings were familiar for the home-standing Vermillion team and they took charge in the first inning by scoring three runs when Ryan Nelson cleared the full bases with a triple. It set the stage for an exciting 11-5 victory as Danny Holoch kept the Dell Rapids team under control, being credited with 18 strikeouts while allowing eight hits and walking two and gaining the winning pitcher designation. Drew Lawrence mopped up the final inning, striking out the last two batters.

Vermillion made good use of the five errors by Dell Rapids, scoring four unearned runs. The other seven runs were earned as Nelson was credited with four RBI, one for three batting, one run scored and a sac fly.

Tyler Vacek went one for four, scoring twice and Tim Brodersen also scored two runs. Adam Brooks was one for three, scored two and had one RBI. Brett Mockler scored twice, and Eric Rickord and Jeff Gilbertson scored one run each.

Mike Amundson hit a towering fly ball over the center field fence for D-R and only three of the five runs were earned for the visiting team.

Line score: Vermillion � 11 runs, 7 hits, 1 error, 8 LOB; Dell Rapids � 5 runs, 8 hits, 5 errors, 2 LOB.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>