Tanager girls’ tennis team opens ’01 season

Tanager girls' tennis team opens '01 season In a match against the Yankton Gazelles, the Vermillion High School girls' tennis team lost 8-1 on Saturday, Aug. 18 on the new courts at the Summit Center sports complex in Yankton, to open the 2001 season.

"We played well for our first match in rather windy conditions," said coach Barb Rickord. "Yankton has a very strong team this year, after graduating only one senior. They also have an exchange student from Belarus who plays #2 � a strong addition for them.

"I felt our girls stayed in the hunt in for points in all the matches," she continued. "Maya Ristic looked especially strong at #1, dominating a fine player, #1 Kyna Williams of Yankton. Michelle Rydell and Deanna Russell showed promise in their first varsity competition."

Varsity scores were:

Singles: Maya Ristic (V) def. Kyna Williams (Y) 10-3; Vljana Shkarupna (Y) def. Catherine Odson 10-2; Abby Washburn (Y) def. Tori Collins 10-4; Lindsey Wilcox (Y) def. Elizabeth Slagle 10-4; Jessica Mathison (Y) def. Michelle Rydell 10-3; and Elizabeth Hunhoff (Y) def. Deanna Russell 10-5.

Doubles: Williams/Washburn (Y) def. Ristic/Odson 10-6; Shkarupna/Wilcox (Y) def. Collins/Slagle 10-1; Mathison/Jennifer Muller (Y) def. Rydell/Russell 10-3.

In a set of JV matches, Lisa Doohen lost to Leah Battin 1-6 and to Laura Wilcox 0-6; Sarah Roetman lost to Melanie Rockne 1-6, and to Jennifer Muller 0-8.

Coach Rickord has 18 girls on the roster: Grade 12 � Elizabeth Slagle; grade 11 � Tori Collins, Lisa Doohen, Britt Fremstad, Catherine Odson, Varsha Rama Krishnan, Maya Ristic, Deanna Russell and Jenna Williams; grade 10 � Savanah Day, Taiana Hayes, Ali Johnson, Jessica Leffers, Sarah Roetman and Elesha Welchel; grade 9 � Michelle Rydell; and grade 7 � Stephanie Cowman and Lindsey Morecraft.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>