USD to induct eight into Coyote Hall of Fame Nov. 10

USD to induct eight into Coyote Hall of Fame Nov. 10 The University of South Dakota will recognize the outstanding achievements of seven former student-athletes, a special contributor and a long-time supporter at the Coyote Hall of Fame induction ceremonies on Saturday, Nov. 10 during Hall of Fame Weekend.

The honored individuals will be recognized during a noon luncheon and at halftime of the South Dakota-North Dakota football game on Saturday, Nov. 10.

The 2001 Coyotes Sports Hall of Fame inductees include: Sue Chamberlain Klein of Overland Park, KS; Russ Dokken of Omaha, NE; Greg Haydenluck, Toronto, Ontario, Canada; Dave Hultgren of Spencer, IA; Jean Misterek-Miller of Arlington, VA; Mike Schurrer of Yankton; Doug Smith of Sioux City, IA; and special contributor Doug Shull of Indianola, IA.

In addition to the Hall of Fame honorees, South Dakota will hold a Moose Merrigan Appreciation Day on Nov. 10, including a reception from 6-9 p.m., Friday, Nov. 9 at The Bluffs in Vermillion. Merrigan, inducted into the Coyotes Sports Hall of Fame in 1978, has been a very loyal supporter of Coyote Athletics. Merrigan served for many years on the USD Athletic Board of Control, and he currently serves as a member of the Coyote Sports Hall of Fame Committee.

Merrigan, who starred on the undefeated Vermillion High School team of 1945, started as a freshman for Harry Gamage's 1946 Coyote squad, which included the likes of Coyote Sports Hall of Fame members Howard Blumhardt and Jack Van Arsdale. In 1948, Merrigan suffered a neck injury vs. Morningside on Dakota Day, which ended his playing career. Merrigan returned to farming and continued his association with USD.

Hall of Fame Inductees

Chamberlain Klein,originally of White River, was named the MVP at the NCC women's indoor track championships in Fargo, ND, in 1982. At that championship meet, she won the 55-meter dash and the 200-meter dash, setting records in both events. She also anchored USD's winning 800-meter relay team. She attended USD from 1979-82, received a bachelor of science degree in physical therapy with distinction from Kansas University in 1984. In 1990, she earned certification from the Physical Therapy Institute of Graduate Physical Therapy in St. Augustine, FL. Since 1998, she has been an adjunct faculty member and teaching associate with the Department of Physical Therapy Education with the Kansas University Medical Center in Kansas City, KS.

Dokken earned all-NCC honors during his junior and senior seasons at South Dakota. During his career he caught 61 passes for 952 yards and five touchdowns. He was a member of the 1978 NCC championship squad.

An outstanding pitcher in baseball, he holds the conference record for most complete games in the NCC.

Dokken, who earned a bachelor of science degree in business administration in 1980, has worked for John Morrell and Company for the past 15 years where he is the national sales manager for the Private Label Division.

Haydenluck, a two-time All-American, may be the greatest decathlete ever at South Dakota. A four-year letter winner from Winnipeg, Manitoba, he held six school indoor track marks and three outdoor records. He qualified for the NCAA Division II nationals in the decathlon three times.

He was the Canadian Decathlon champion in 1985 and 1987. He earned a bachelor of science degree in education and a master's degree in 1983 from USD and is a high school teacher at Central Technical High School in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Hultgren was a key member of the 1978 South Dakota North Central Conference champions. He continues to actively support South Dakota athletics. Hultgren, who earned a bachelor of science degree in business administration in 1979 from USD, has served as general manager of the John Deere Dealerships in Spencer, IA, and Lake Park, IA, for several years.

Misterek-Miller, South Dakota's greatest ever shot blocker in women's basketball, ranks first in career blocked shots with 134. She was the recipient of the Stan Marshall Award in 1987, only one of two Coyote women to receive the honor since the NCC established the award in 1983.

Misterek-Miller earned a bachelor of arts degree in German and history in 1987, graduating magna cum laude from USD in 1987. Later, she received a J.D. degree in 1991 from the George Washington University Law School. Today, she is a senior associate with the Watt Tieder Hoffar & Fitzgerald firm in McLean, VA.

Schurrer, originally of Vermillion, played offensive center in helping lead the 1978 Coyote football team to the 1978 North Central Conference championship.

He received a bachelor of science degree in chemistry in 1979 from USD and an M.D. from USD in 1984. He did his residence training in Milwaukee, WI, and then worked for seven years at the Rapid City Regional Hospital. Later he worked at the University of Iowa Hospital and Clinics for six and one-half years. In 2000, he moved to Yankton, where he is an emergency room physician.

Smith was a two-sport star at South Dakota. Smith was named to conference teams in both football and baseball. While injuries hurt his football career, Smith was regarded as one of the hardest hitting secondary players in Coyote annals. An all-NCC shortstop in baseball in 1976, Smith hit .435 in league play and .394 for the season.

He received a bachelor of science degree in business administration in 1978 from USD. Currently, he is the District Claims Manager for IMT Insurance Company in Sioux City, a company for which he has worked for the past 21 years.

Shull, formerly the chief financial officer and director of Casey's General Stores of Ankeny, IA, has been a major supporter of Coyote athletics, especially the programs of basketball, and track and field.

A 1965 graduate of USD, Shull served as the vice president of the USD Foundation from 1991-93 and president from 1993-95. In 1995, he received a Distinguished Service Award from USD. Shull is a member of the Simpson College faculty in Indianola, IA.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>