Writers could win $100 for short story creation

Writers could win $100 for short story creation The Vermillion Literary Project is sponsoring its fifth annual short story contest.

Stories earning first and second place will automatically be published in the 2002 magazine, and the first-place winner will also win $100. Everyone is welcome to participate, including the general public and University of South Dakota students, faculty, and staff.

Stories must be written in a designated room within three hours, at a specified time. Also, a certain theme, image, or idea (which will not be announced until the contest begins) must figure prominently in the story. Computers will be available for participants' use.

The contest will be held in the McKusick Technology Center (Arts and Sciences building, west of the tennis courts, on the USD campus in Vermillion), in room #101, from 12 to 3 p.m., on Saturday, Oct. 27. Contestants should arrive no later than 11:45 a.m.

A panel of judges consisting of USD faculty and students will read the stories and select the winners. The first-and second-place winners will be announced on Project Radio (KAOR, 91.1 FM), the Vermillion Literary Project's campus radio show. The news will also be announced on its Web site.

Registration fee: $10 general public; $2 USD students (additional $2 for late registration). For more information and to register, go to http://www.usd.edu/~projlit/storycontest.html. Questions? Call 605-677-5229 or email us at projlit@usd.edu.

The Vermillion Literary Project is a student organization at USD, serving the USD community and reaching out to the public as well. The VLP publishes an annual literary magazine, puts on poetry readings and other events, and hosts a campus radio show. For more information, visit the VLP Web site: http://www.usd.edu/~projlit.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>