Four awarded rank of of Eagle Scout Nov. 18

Four awarded rank of of Eagle Scout Nov. 18 The Eagle Scout Court of Honor was held on Nov. 18 at the United Church of Christ in Vermillion.

Four scouts from Vermillion Troop 66, Sioux Council of the Boy Scouts of America were awarded the rank of Eagle Scout. They are Jake Jensen, son of Jodi Jensen; Ben Williams, son of Jack and Beth Williams; and Mark and Jon Rusch, sons of Art and Lana Rusch.

The Eagle Scout Rank is awarded to a Boy Scout who has successfully completed the requirements which include earning a total of at least 21 merit badges, having demonstrated the Scout oath (promise) and Scout law in everyday life and having served in a leadership capacity in their Scout troop. In addition, the Scout must complete a Scout project.

Jensen's project was to build and put up 15 birdhouses in the city parks in Vermillion.

Williams project was a study of the plants along the Missouri River in Clay County. He then gave a presentation on this subject at the W.H. Over Museum.

Mark Rusch's project was to type the records of several of the cemeteries of Clay County into a computer database. This information is available for those searching cemetery records.

Jon Rusch's project was cleaning and landscaping the ravine along the side of the Senior Citizen Center in Vermillion.

The Court of Honor ceremony was opened with the presentation of the colors followed by recitation of the Pledge of Allegiance and the Scout Oath.

The Rev. Don Imming gave the invocation. Scoutmaster Tony Nelson made the welcome and introductions.

Royce Engstrom spoke on "The Trail to Becoming an Eagle Scout," and Barry Vickery was the guest speaker.

Young Moore III presented the Eagle Scout awards.

America the Beautiful was sung with accompaniment by Adam and Paula Nelson. The Rev. Steve Miller gave the benediction.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>