O’Connor wins HWT class at Lincoln High

O'Connor wins HWT class at Lincoln High by Jim Prosser There were 16 schools represented at the Floyd Farrand Wrestling Invitational in Sioux Falls Dec. 21-22, held at Lincoln High School.

Sturgis won the team title for the third time in a row, while Vermillion was 15th with only one place winner in the HWT class. Kyle Hubert, at 103 pounds, lost two close matches; 10-11 vs Noah Ruml (Howard) and 2-4 vs John Wermers (Parkston) while Brad Simons won 1 and lost 2 at 215 pounds, losing to Sisseton and Sturgis wrestlers and beating Austin Parks of SF Washington 11-4.

Heavyweight Ray O�Oconnor pinned Eric Boehm (SFL) 1:15, and Aaron Moline (SFR) 3:05, then out pointed Brock Scott (BV) 8-2, and Chet Delbridge (Sturgis) 3-1, to become eventual champion at HWT.

�This tournament allowed us to see some of the best competition in the state of South Dakota as well as those in our region,� said coach Casey O�Connor. �Many of our wrestlers just fell short of the place round due to mental mistakes. The tourney marked the end to a very intense first half of the season. It acts as a measure of our abilities and what we need to work on for the rest of the year.

�Our only place winner, heavyweight Ray O�Connor, is displaying great physical conditioning and mental focus on the mat,� he added.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>