Local water systems receive DENR awards

Local water systems receive DENR awards The South Dakota Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) announces that Vermillion's public water system, the Clay Rural Water System and Wakonda's Water System, and the systems' certified operators have been awarded Drinking Water Certificate of Achievement Awards.

Each award is for outstanding water system operations and environmental compliance with state drinking water standards for the past year.

Announcement of the award came during the 2002 South Dakota Water and Wastewater Associations Annual Water Seminar held Feb. 6-7 in Sioux Falls.

Vermillion's certified operators are Douglas Brown, Vernon Hasenbank, Roger Hauger, Randy Isaacson, Thomas Kruse, Wade Mount, Terry Bernard, Fred Balleweg, Allen Clark, and Curt Haakinson.

Clay Rural Water System's certified operators are Tim Gregoire, Gregory Merrigan, Tom Hollingsworth, Marlon Hanson, and Phil Iverson.

"This award is testimony to the pride the certified operator and this public water system take sin providing water that meets the drinking water standards and is safe for customer consumption," said DENR Secretary Steve Pirner. "With the ever-increasing requirements by the federal environmental Protection Agency, community drinking water systems must pay close attention on a daily basis to earn this award."

To qualify for the Drinking Water Certificate of Achievement Award, systems and their operators had to meet all of the following requirements for the 2001: compliance monitoring, drinking water standards, have a published Consumer Confidence Report, lead/copper action levels, and be in compliance with operator certification requirements.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>