Vermillion students will compete in science bowl

Vermillion students will compete in science bowl Students from Vermillion High School will compete in the ninth annual South Dakota Science Bowl to be held Feb. 9 at Huron University. The students will compete with 31 other teams from across the state.

Students registered for the event are Craig Bierle, Chris Hayes, Thomas Dendinger, Keshau Arogyaswamy, and Geng Wang. The students are being coached by Bill Settles.

The science bowls are part of the National Science Bowl competition sponsored by the U.S. Department of Energy to recognize students who excel in math and science.

The Huron Offices of the Western Area Power Administration, a DOE agency, will host the day long event. Sponsors from across the state have contributed financial support as a means of recognizing the importance of math and science education for South Dakota students. The winning team will receive an all-expense paid trip to Washington, DC to compete in the nation competition this spring.

All teams will participate in a round robin format in the morning and the eight teams with the best records will move into a double elimination tourney in the afternoon. The public is welcome to come watch the competition in Voorhees Hall at Huron University. Opening ceremonies commence at 9 a.m. and matches begin at 9:30 a.m.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>