VHS vocalists successful at small group contest Feb. 13

VHS vocalists successful at small group contest Feb. 13 The VHS Choral Department participated in SDHSAA Region I Small Group Vocal Contest on Wednesday, Feb. 13 in Yankton. VHS took 40 solos, 12 duets and 16 ensembles/large groups. After hard work and many hours of preparation, the singers took home over 88 percent division I (superior) ratings, including nine division I+ ratings, one of those being VHS Show Choir Rhythm In Red. They also received eight division II (excellent) ratings. Choir members were awarded a total of 236 superior medals.

The following ensembles received division I+ ratings: VHS Show Choir Rhythm in Red, Quartet 2 (Amanda Aga, Rebecca Gehm, Justin Manning, Ben McBride), Men's Large Group (Zach Holoch, Justin Manning, Nelson Chang, Arthur Begley, Matt Smidt, Steven Millage, Dan Pearson, Collin Prosser, Zach Mortensen, Mark Schissel, Ben McBride, Lance Sell, Paul Wait, Mike Clark, Mark Amiotte, Ben Parsons, Jon Hoadley), Jon Hoadley/Mary Nelson � duet, Amanda Aga/Laura Aga � duet, Mike Clark/Zach Holoch � duet, Amanda Aga/Matt Smidt � duet, Zach Holoch � solo, Alexis Lang � solo.

The following soloists were awarded division I (superior) ratings: Laura Aga, Camille Andrews, Molly O'Connor, Michele Morse, Joelle Mulder, Lisa Doohen, Arthur Begley, Zach Mortensen, Catherine Odson, Mike Clark, Becca Gehm, Matt Smidt, Ashley Thompson, Diana Clark, Collin Prosser, Mary Nelson, Ben McBride, Holly Heaton, Hillary McCann, Cassie McBride, Michelle Cooley, Anne-Marie Bickel, Deanna Russell, Amber Reisdorph, Carey Engstrom, Amanda Aga, Noelle Harden, Heather Reeves, Jacque Smidt, Monica Wing, Molly Beeman.

The following soloists were awarded division II (excellent) ratings: Ellen Odson, Mary Thompson, Alisa Schamber, Samantha Brown, Taylor Drake, Crystal Button, Stephanie Morse.

The following duets received division I ratings: Carey Engstrom/Ashley Thompson, Heather Reeves/Catherine Odson, Ben McBride/Arthur Begley, Matt Smidt/Zach Mortensen, Deanna Russell/Amanda Aga, Kayla Nelson/Molly Beeman, Cassie McBride/Ben McBride.

The following duets received division II ratings: Cassie McBride/Noelle Harden.

The following ensembles received division I ratings:

Senior Women's Trio (Engstrom, Paulson, Pommersheim), Sophomore Women's Trio (C. McBride, Harden, Heaton), Freshmen Women's Trio (O'Connor, L. Aga, Wing), Quartet 1 (Lang, Reeves, Holoch, M. Clark), Senior Women's Large Group (M. Nelson, Lang, D. Clark, Pommersheim, Engstrom, Anne-Marie Bickel, A. Thompson, Cara Stogsdill, Reisdorph, Meganne Hovden, Paulson)

Junior Women's Large Group (Button, Russell, Doohen, Andrews, Suzanne Bohnen, C. Odson, Britt Fremstad, M. Morse, Tessa Tuetken, K. Nelson, Beeman, Ashley Bjorkman, Mulder), Sophomore Women's Large Group (Kendra Gottsleben, Miranda Halvorson, Sarah Gregg, Ryla Cromwell, Heaton, Stephanie Lambert, Schamber, Brown, Harden, Cooley, Ana Ackerman, Jenna Stewart, Megan Hesse,

Mary Larsen, Savannah Day, Elesha Whelchel, C. McBride, Melinda Tank)

Freshmen Women's Large Group (Kristi Olson, O'Connor, McCann, Travy Cook, M. Thompson, Heather Howitz, Melaney Porter, L. Aga, E. Odson, Drake, Wing, Erin Austin, J. Smidt, Elissa Jordt, S. Morse, Mandy Reisdorph)

Senior Women's Sextet (M. Nelson, Pommersheim, Bickel, Engstrom, Paulson, A. Reisdorph), Junior Women's Triple Trio (Russell, Doohen, Andrews, Aga, Gehm, Reeves, C. Odson, M. Morse, Meghan Reinhart), Men's Large Group (Holoch, Manning, Chang, Millage, Begley, M. Smidt, Pearson, Prosser, Mortensen, Schissel, B. McBride, Sell, Wait, M. Clark, Amiotte, Parsons, Hoadley), Men's Triple Trio (Chang, Millage, Begley, Wait, M. Smidt, Prosser, Mortensen, Parsons, Hoadley)

Mixed Large Group (A. Aga, Lang, Russell, Heaton, Gehm, Reeves, C. McBride, A. Reisdorph, Begley, Holoch, Manning, Wait, Amiotte, M. Clark, B. McBride), VHS Jazz Choir (Lang, M. Nelson, Pommersheim, Russell, A. Aga, Engstrom, Gehm, Reeves, C. McBride, A. Reisdorph, Paulson, K. Nelson, Begley, Manning, Holoch, B. McBride, M. Clark, M. Smidt, Mortensen, Hoadley).

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>