Gottsleben named NCC Indoor Track & Field Coach of the Year

Gottsleben named NCC Indoor Track & Field Coach of the Year Dave Gottsleben, head coach of The University of South Dakota men's track & field team, was named North Central Conference Men's Track & Field Coach of the Year, according to an announcement made Feb. 27 by the conference office.

He was selected by a vote of NCC coaches after directing the Coyote men's track & field team to its first North Central Conference indoor title since 1999, scoring 212 points at the NCC indoor meet on Saturday, Feb. 23 at Mankato, MN. The women's NCC Coach of the Year was Ryun Godfrey of North Dakota State, who directed NDSU to its third consecutive NCC indoor track & field title.

Gottsleben, who has been named NCC Conference coach of the year eight times (indoor and outdoor), is in his 18th year as head men's track & field coach, and has coached 91 all-Americans and four national champions. He has been awarded the North Central Region Coach of the Year five times, including in 2000, when his team finished third in the nation. It was the best finish by a USD outdoor men's team.

In 1997, he was named the Division II Men's National Coach of the Year, and in 1994, he received the NCAA Division II Men's and Women's Track and Field Coaches Association award for his distinguished service to Division II track & field.

The Coyotes have enjoyed a rich tradition having placed fourth or better in 28 of the last 32 NCC indoor and outdoor meets. USD is one of the most consistent teams in the NCC with six NCC championships, 14 second-place efforts, four third-place finishes, in the last 16 years.

A native of Brookings, he received his undergraduate degree in 1975 and master's degree in 1980 from South Dakota State University. He was the head coach at Menno High School from 1975-79, and head men's and women's track coach at Dakota State from 1979-83.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>