Lio will participate in young musician final

Lio will participate in young musician final The 2002 Young Musician Competition Preliminary auditions took place Saturday, March 2 at the Washington Pavilion of Arts and Science. This state and regional competition for piano, strings, brass, woodwinds and percussion is open to all full-time students through their senior year in high school. This year, 29 students participated in the preliminaries and 12 were selected as finalists for the March 10 competition.

The competition is designed to promote the growth of instrumental music in the state and region.

Finalists selected for this year's competition are: Wilber Lio from Vermillion; Sarah Rohde, Brandon Smith, Megan Randall, Susan Miranda, Anna Rohde, and Keith Munro from Sioux Falls; Heather Leffelman from Marshall, MN; Brittany Henry from Roseville, MN; Haley Boone from Sioux Center, IA; Tim Barker from LeMars, IA; and Jessica Shoemaker from Hawarden, IA.

These students will be competing for prizes of $500 for first place, $350 for second place, $200 for third place and honorable mention prizes of $50, courtesy of the South Dakota Symphony Orchestra League. The Henry Charles Smith Award of $250 for Spirit and Enthusiasm was awarded to Megan Randall at the preliminary competition.

The public is welcome to attend the Young Musician Competition Final Round beginning at 6 p.m. on Sunday, March 10 at the Washington Pavilion. To learn more about the Young Musician Competition, please contact the South Dakota Symphony Office at (605) 335-7933.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>