Tanagers start track season at SIC Invite

Tanagers start track season at SIC Invite by Jim Prosser The Tanager boys� track team was paired against the East Raiders in a quadruple dual meet involving the Sioux Interstate Conference held at the DakotaDome March 19.

The duals had Sioux Falls Washington versus Sioux City Heelan; Sioux Falls Roosevelt versus Sioux City North; and Sioux Falls Lincoln versus Sioux City West to complete the field in competition.

Final scores were: Lincoln 66, West 35; Roosevelt 58, North 39; Washington 49, Heelan 47; and East 61, Vermillion 40.

Field events results for the Tanagers are:

Shot put

First � Ray O�Connor (46�5"), second � Kellen Cusick.

Long jump

First � Quincy Christie (20� 4"), third � Cusick.

High jump

Second (tie) � Jerad Hesla.

Chris Tiegen placed first in the 55 meter high hurdles (9.8 seconds); Eric Dehner won the 800 meter run in 2:05.9, Chad Tiegen was second and Mitch Bierle came in third.

Oliver Hope placed second and Chris Tiegen was third in the 400 meter while Craig Powell was the winner of the 1600 meter run timed in 5:01.2.

In the relays, the East team overpowered Vermillion with their depth and won every race.

In the girls� meet, Heelan defeated Washington 61-40; Roosevelt topped North 78-26; Lincoln took West 69-32 and East outscored Vermillion 73-28.

In field events, the Tanagers� Anne Carlson and Nicole Pederson finished second and third in the long jump.

In individual running events, Heather Heine was the winner in the 400 meter run (1:09) and Britt Weydert placed third.

The 800 meter was swept by the Tanagers with Morgan Brooks first (2:35), Brittney Gilkyson second and Kayla Mollet third. In the 1600 meter run, Nicki Mollet finished second and Megan Griffith placed third.

Vermillion won one of the four relays � the 4×400 � in a time of 4:32.5 with the relay team of Carlson, Kayla Mollet, Gilkyson, and Brooks.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>