The Welcome Table and Mueller honored at Sertoma banquet

The Welcome Table and Mueller honored at Sertoma banquet The Welcome Table and John Mueller were honored by the Vermillion Sertoma Club during their annual banquet held Feb. 9.

The Welcome Table received the Service to Mankind Award. This award is presented to a non-club member or organization from the community for outstanding service work. The Welcome Table was recognized for their extensive volunteer work in providing free, sit-down "family style" meals to people in the community. Board members from The Welcome Table present for the award presentation were John and Carol Lushbough, Rev. Brook McBride, and JoAnne Allen.

Mueller received the Sertoman of the Year award for his valuable contributions made to the club during the past year. In addition to involvement with Sertoma charity projects, Mueller has been a club officer for the past four years and has been extensively involved with youth soccer in Vermillion as a volunteer.

Also recognized at the event were:

* Past club presidents: Harlan Schott, Gene Allstot, Gene Lunn, Rich Job, John Mueller and Scott Munger.

* B.J. Nesselhuf and Maureen Burton received special Sertoma Club recognition certificates.

* USD students and Vermillion High School graduates, Jennifer Frye and Shawna Barron were present to thank the Sertoma Club for the scholarships they received; and

* USD graduate student Jennifer Hewitt wa present to thank the Sertoma Club for the scholarship she received.

Past recipients of the Service to Mankind Award are Gary Wright, General Lloyd Moses, Vern Holter, Reader for Blind Students, USD Adopt-a-Grandparent Program, Mary Hall, Young Moore, III, Dorothy Neuhaus, Matt Stricherz, Janice Olson, Bill Radigan, RoAnn Redlin, Keith Joy, Vermillion Youth Soccer Association, Louie Fostvedt, Ray Hofman, and Judy Clark.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>