USD Medical School selects Alumni Scholars

USD Medical School selects Alumni Scholars Six South Dakota students have been selected to participate in the 2002 Alumni Student Scholar Program (ASSP) sponsored by The University of South Dakota School of Medicine Alumni Foundation. Recipients include: Kimberly Schnider, Rapid City; Melanie Ottenbacher, Selby; Holly Huse, Onida; Crystal Gorden, Elk Point; Brian Giedd, Colome; and Eric Davies, Whitewood.

This program identifies promising high school students with a strong interest in medicine and who want to practice in primary care � particularly family practice � in South Dakota. Scholarship recipients receive conditional admission into the USD School of Medicine and will be enrolled in the USD Honors Program.

As a further incentive, $1,000 tuition scholarships, renewable for up to four years, are provided annually to the recipients while undergraduates at USD. The students are also eligible to compete for tuition scholarships and other financial aid in the School of Medicine.

Alumni Student Scholar applicants must have a combined score of 1240 on the SAT or 28 on the ACT, and plan to attend USD for their undergraduate degree. Selected ASSP applicants must graduate within four years with at least a 3.5 undergraduate grade point average, complete all pre-medicine and ASSP requirements as well as complete the requirements of the USD Honors Program.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>