Annual Junior Music Festival held

Annual Junior Music Festival held About 95 young musicians participated in the 39th annual Junior Music Festival, sponsored by the Vermillion Music Club in conjunction with the National Federation of Music Clubs, held on March 2, at the Vermillion High School. The young pianists were privileged to play the grand piano on the large stage in the beautifully designed new auditorium.

The participants are young people from the Vermillion area, including a group from Yankton, ages 5-17. The following teachers had students participating in this year's festival: Judy Aiello, Lois Droegemeier, Marie Gray, Karen Lipp, Beth Mitchell, Russell Osterberg, Lisa Swanson, John Thomson, and Janis Yarbrough.

Each student performs two pieces of music from memory, one of which is a required selection and the other is a piece which the student and his/her teacher choose; a rating for the performance, along with a written critique are given by the judge. The judge for the string performers this year was Eleanor May-Patterson, a violinist/violist from Sioux City, IA. She is a member of the Sioux City Symphony and has a studio with 37 students of her own.

The pianists were judged by Christy Kimball, a piano teacher for 30 years and currently working on a graduate degree in organ performance at USD.

The following students received a superior rating in the piano solo event: Cole Andre, Matthew Auch, Ellen Brown, Zazzee Coleman, Lindsey Davies, Daniel Davies, Sarah Day, DeNell Dykstra, Sam Ekstrom, Rebecca Girlinghouse, Crystal Gorden, Paul Granaas, Maggie Green, Laura Hansen, Jack Higgins, Lauren Higgins, Emily Holoch, Shelli Knutson, Tia Krier, Douglas Kronaizl, Jenny Larson, Molly Larson, Raychel Lorenz, Amy Mart, Laura May, Paul May, Kayla Munger, Deepti Naik, Heidi Osterberg, Robert Osterberg, Erin Rasmussen, Sarah Rasmussen, Michelle Rasmussen, Kate Renner, Julie Renner, Michelle Rydell, Brooke Schwasinger, Kristen Schwasinger, Jade Van Kley, Emily Vandenhul, Olivia Vandenhul, Heather Walker, and David Yarbrough. An excellent rating for piano solo was received by: Stephanie Cowman, Dru Daniels, Dylan Daniels, Mason Eichelberg, Caley Gerth, Logan Gerth, Emma Getzin, Molly Green, Jackie Hanson, Luke Heine, Matthew May, Janani Ragothaman, Micah Rarick, Kara Rasmussen, Emily Renner, Valerie Robinson, Kathryn Van Balen, Alexa Walker, Michael Walker, and Thomas Walker. Elizabeth Day, Michelle Getzin, and William Getzin received a very good rating for piano solo.

The following students received a superior rating for violin or viola solos: Ty Kelly, Annie Peasley, Silpa Somepalli, Anny Son, Sadie Stevens, Sophie Stevens, and Alexa Thomson. Excellent ratings for violin or viola solos were earned by Julie Auch, Rebecca Bogue, Shawndra Beukelman, Holly Ehresmann, Kate Ehresmann, Rhea Ehresmann, Hanna Gerth, Josephine Kabambi, Brianna Kelley, Janani Ragothaman, Anne Roche, Allen Schmitz, and Jacki Wang. Sagarika Arogyaswamy, Brooke Hiemstra, Agnes Kabambi, and Christian Lehmann received a very good rating for their violin/viola solos. In the violin concerto event, Anny Son, Sophie Stevens and Alexa Thomson received a superior rating, and Sadie Stevens and Jacki Wang received excellent ratings.

The Lyric Strings Orchestra, conducted by Karen Lipp, received a superior rating for its performance. Members of the orchestra are: Hannah Alsgaard, Josephine Kabambi, Janani Ragothaman, Allen Schmitz, Sadie Stevens, Sophie Stevens, Alexa Thomson, and Jacki Wang. This is the 31st year in which the Lyric Strings Orchestra has participated in the Junior Music Festival.

In addition to receiving a rating and comments from the judge, participants can earn points every year based on the ratings they receive, and gold cups are then awarded to those earning the required number of points (15 points for a small cup, 30 points for a medium cup, and 45 points for a large cup). This year 19 gold cups were awarded.

Small gold cups for piano solos were earned by: Daniel Davies, Sarah Day, Molly Larson, Micah Rarick, Erin Rasmussen, Janani Ragothaman, Kristen Schwasinger, and Jade Van Kley. Medium gold cups for piano solo were awarded to Lindsay Davies and Olivia Vandenhul. Small gold cups for violin solo went to Kate Ehresmann, Rhea Ehresmann, Allen Schmitz, and Silpa Somepalli. Holly Ehresmann earned a small cup for viola solo, and Sophie Stevens and Alexa Thomson received small gold cups for violin concertos. Hannah Alsgaard and Sophie Stevens earned small gold cups in the string orchestra event.

Thanks to the members of the Vermillion Music Club who worked to put on this festival. For further information about the Junior Music Festival or the Vermillion Music Club, contact Carolyn Johnson at 624-4233, or Sarah Chadima 624-6745.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>