Clay-Union Electric holds 66th annual meeting

Clay-Union Electric holds 66th annual meeting The Clay-Union Electric Cooperative held its 2002 annual meeting on March 26 at Wakonda High School. The meeting was attended by nearly 400 people, including 149 voting members, all of whom enjoyed a meal served by members of the Knights of Columbus of Wakonda prior to the business session of the meeting.

The meeting was called to order by Dan O'Connor, president of the board of directors. The minutes of the 2001 annual meeting were distributed and approved. O'Connor then gave the president's report. The treasurer's report was presented by Milo Gilbertson.

The election of the director for District 3 was held. Through the process of petition, the name of Milo Gilbertson was placed before the voters as the sole nominee for the position. Gilbertson was elected by a unanimous vote.

Both O'Connor and Cooperative Manager Paul Roberts gave updates on the business proceedings of the cooperative during 2001. It was noted that 2001 had been a positive year for the cooperative, including along with the offerings such as DBS and the wiring department making important financial contributions. It was also noted that once again, the members of Clay-Union received refund checks due to excess margins created by the above mentioned factors. Also of note to the members was the fact that the past year marked the 14th year in a row of rate stability.

The 2002 annual meeting used a theme of "Expanding the Cooperative Value" to focus on the personal commitment that the cooperative makes to the members In the face of industry change and the problems caused by deregulation, Clay-Union Electric continues to expand on its service commitment to its members.

Two employees of the cooperative were honored for their years of service to members of the cooperative. Mike Kjose received a plaque honoring him for having served members of the cooperative for 25 years. Gary Eidem received his 10-year service pin.

Clay-Union Electric serves consumers in Clay, Lincoln, Turner, Union and Yankton counties.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>