Tanager girls capture first place at Elk Point-Jefferson Invitational

Tanager girls capture first place at Elk Point-Jefferson Invitational by Jim Prosser The Tanager girls� track team scored 151 points to capture first place at the Elk Point-Jefferson Invitational Thursday, April 4. Six teams from three states were in attendance.

Vermillion scorers in field events included Annie Carlson, first in long jump with a distance of 15' 9.5" with Sarah Christopherson placing fifth.

Nicole Pederson scored a first place in the triple jump with a total distance of 33' 4.5" and Carlson and Christopherson were second and fourth respectively in the triple jump.

The other field events found Meggie Donnelly at fifth in the high jump.

Lindsay Dunkeson placed first (16.65) in the 100M hurdles and third in the 300M hurdles. Brooke Johnson finished second in the 300M hurdles and sixth in the 100M hurdles. Brittany Weydert was sixth in the 300M hurdles. In the 100M dash, Crystal Coakley (13.7) was first and Christopherson placed third. Nicole Pederson placed first in the 200M dash (28.9) with Carly Bernard placing third.

Morgan Brooks was second in the 400M dash, with Heather Heine and Kayla Mollet finishing fourth and fifth. In the 800M run, Brittney Gilkyson placed first (2:37.5), and the 1600M run had Kati Dehner in third place.

Finishing first in the 3200M run was Nicki Mollet (13:13.8) and Theresa Ring finished fourth.

In the relays, second place was scored in the 4x200M by the relay team of Coakley, Carlson, Donnelly, and Pederson.

The 4x400M relay team of Morgan Brooks, Heather Heine, Brittany Weydert, and Kayla Mollet came in third place.

The medley relay team of Sarah Christopherson, Ali Christensen, Theresa Dendinger, and Jeanette Nygaard finished fifth.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>