Vermillion school scheduled to join DDN information system

Vermillion school scheduled to join DDN information system The next 23 school districts have been selected to join the DDN Campus Student Information System project. Britton, Dakota Valley, Elk Point/Jefferson, Estelline, Eureka, Gregory, Harding County, Huron, Irene, Miller, Mitchell, Parker, Parkston, Pierre, Plankinton, Redfield, Scotland, Shannon County, Sioux Valley, Sisseton, Stanley County, Vermillion and Wall will begin the transition to DDN Campus starting July 1.

Initially announced on April 10, DDN Campus is an Internet based application that schools will use to create student schedules, maintain staff records, record attendance and more easily transmit required data between schools, among other things. The system uses the statewide Digital Dakota Network (DDN) to transmit state-required student enrollment and attendance date.

"DDN Campus will let parents check their children's grades and attendance and let the general public see how their public schools are performing," said Ray Christensen, secretary of the South Dakota Department of Education and Cultural Affairs (DECA).

Burke, Chamberlain, Chester Area, Spearfish, and Watertown school districts began piloting the system earlier this month and are well into the transition process. Another 20 school districts will be added each quarter through July 2004, when the DDN Campus project is scheduled to be completed.

For additional information on DDN Campus refer to the "Parents, students, teachers to benefit from new student information system" news release in the State News Web archives at

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>