Incumbents re-elected to historical board

Incumbents re-elected to historical board Two incumbents were recently re-elected to the board of trustees of the South Dakota State Historical Society.

Paul V. Miller of Custer won another at-large term on the board, while Jeffrey V. Buechler of Rapid City earned another three years as the board's professional archaeologist. Mary B. Edelen, society director, made the announcement April 13 at the organization's annual meeting in Pierre.

John Duffy of Mission, Robert E. Kolbe of Sioux Falls and Leo J. Neifer of Hosmer opposed Miller. Lance Rom of Rapid City was the other archaeologist candidate.

A 12-member board of trustees governs the State Historical Society. Six members are elected by the membership and the governor appoints six. State law specifies that the board must include a professional archaeologist, architect, architectural historian, archivist and historian.

Memberships are a major source of revenue for the State Historical Society. The society has members in all 50 states and seven foreign countries. For more information on becoming a member and helping to fund the society's work in preserving and protecting our state's heritage, contact Jeff Mammenga, membership coordinator, at 900 Governors Dr., Pierre, SD 57501-2217; phone (605)773-6000.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>