Register by May 20 for June 4 election

Register by May 20 for June 4 election "This is the final week to update your voter registration for the upcoming primary election," said Secretary of State Joyce Hazeltine as she reminds voters that May 20 is the deadline for registering to vote in the June 4 primary and constitutional amendment election. "Take the time today to register to vote at one of many registration locations or by downloading a registration form from the Internet."

In order to vote in the Republican or Democrat primary election voters must be registered with one of those parties. Independents and voters registered with other parties may vote on the constitutional amendment but may not vote on primary candidates.

Voters also have until May 20 to change their party affiliation or update their registration address by completing a new voter registration form.

Anyone who will be 18 years of age by June 4 or has never registered to vote or someone who has moved and needs to change their address should register.

Voters may register at a county auditor's office, city finance office, driver's license station, Department of Human Services offices providing assistance to the disabled, military recruitment offices or public assistance agencies providing food stamps, TANF or WIC. Forms may also be downloaded from Registration forms obtained from the Internet or at these offices may be mailed to your county auditor's office, but mail-in cards must be received by the county auditor by May 20.

On June 4, Republicans will be nominating candidates for United States House of Representatives and governor. Democrats will be nominating candidates for United States Senate, United States House of Representatives and governor. Many legislative and county office candidates will also be nominated. All voters will vote on Constitutional Amendment A � an amendment to Article XVII of the South Dakota Constitution relating to restrictions on corporate farming.

Anyone needing information on registering may call their local county auditor or the secretary of state's toll-free election line, 1-888-70ELECT.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>