South Dakota Public Radio earns top honors

South Dakota Public Radio earns top honors South Dakota Public Radio's reputation for excellence stand sfirm after the 2002 Associated Press Broadcasters Association awards ceremony, held recently in Sioux Falls.

SDPR earned 20 of 27 awards in its competition, with nine first place awards and 11 honorable mentions. In addition, SDPR captured the sweepstakes award for overall excellence.

SDPR's awards include:

* Series-Documentary

First Place: Brian Bull and Joshua Welsh, Pressing Matters: Winemaking in South Dakota

Honorable mention: Staff, Dakota Heros one-hour documentary

* Spot News

First Place: Brian Bull, Sioux City Slayings

Honorable Mention: Curt Nickisch, Tyson Buys IBP

Honorable Mention: Nicole Nordbye, NSU Mission Change

* General Reporting

First Place: Curt Nickisch, Day County Flooding

Honorable Mention: Joshua Welsh, Crazy Horse Settlement

* Investigative-Enterprise

First Place: Joshua Welsh, Uranium Miners

Honorable Mention: Brain Bull, Flandreau Indian School Initiative

* Newscast

First Place: Matt Weesner

Honorable Mention: Brian Bull

* Best Audio

Honorable Mention: Brian Bull, Baby Talk: Father's Day Commentary

Honorable Mention:

Joshua Welsh, Fireworks

* Feature

First Place: Curt Nickisch, Day County Flooding

* Writing

First Place: Curt Nickisch, Inmate Homebuilders

Honorable Mention: Susan Hanson, The Coffee Shop Gallery

* Web Site

First Place: Larry Rohrer and Kent Osborne

* Talk/Public Affairs

First Place: Nicole Nordbye, South Dakota Forum: Response to Terrorism

Honorable Mention: Brian Bull, South Dakota Forum: Shane Osborn

Honorable Mention: Janet Davison, Around Lakota Country with Tim Giago

For additional information about SDPB or the awards, call 1-800-456-0766 or visit the SDPB Web site (

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>