South Dakota Public Radio wins national awards

South Dakota Public Radio wins national awards South Dakota Public Radio earned national awards from both the Radio-Television News Directors Association (RTNDA) and the Native American Journalists Association (NAJA).

RTNDA awarded SDPR its second consecutive Edward R. Murrow Award. In 2002, SDPR earned top honors in the Radio � Small Market category for its news documentary Dakota Heroes, a one-hour program featuring South Dakota's contributions to World War II. SDPR was among the 54 news organizations selected as an award winner out of 2,303 entries. SDPR will accept the honor at the Edward R. Murrow Awards Ceremony on Oct. 7, 2002, in New York.

SDPR staff contributing to the documentary include: Director of Radio Terry Harris; Program Director Matt Weesner; News Director Brian Bull; News Producer Joshua Welsh, Janet Davison, manager, KCSD, Sioux Falls; News Producer Emily Babcock, News Producer Nicole Nordye, Arts Reporter Susan Hanson; Owen DeJong, classics director; Jim Clark, jazz director; and Dakota Heroes narrator Tom Dempster.

"It's a such an honor to receive this prestigious award. It proves SDPR is among the best," said Terry Harris, director of radio.

RTNDA has been honoring outstanding achievement in electronic journalism since 1971. RTNDA represents local and network news executives in electronic media in more than 30 countries.

SDPR received eight awards � three first places, four second places and one third place from the NAJA. News Director Brian Bull, who produced six of the award-winning reports and participated in the other two awards, accepted the awards at the NAJA Convention in San Diego, CA.

"This is the second year where SDPR has taken high honors for its coverage of native and non-native issues," Bull said. "There were many people who were pleased � and surprised � that our network held its own among so many other larger networks covering similar topics."

The awards include:

* General excellence, second place: South Dakota Public Radio, staff

* Best documentary, first place: Dakota Heroes, a project of SDPR's staff

* Best documentary, second place: Fool Soldiers Saga, Brian Bull

* Best radio news story, first place: Spirit Mound, Brian Bull

* Best sports story, first place: SuAnne Big Crow Legacy, Brian Bull

* Best sports story, second place: Indian Mascot Debate, Brian Bull

* Best feature story, second place: American Indian Journalism Institute, Brian Bull

* Best feature story, honorable mention: Flandreau Indian School Initiative, Brian Bull

NAJA serves and empowers native journalists through programs and actions designed to enrich journalism and promote Native cultures.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>