USD education majors are awarded scholarships

USD education majors are awarded scholarships Seven students majoring in education at The University of South Dakota were awarded scholarships for the 2002-2003 year. Awards were given based on academic achievement and commitment to teaching.

Phi Delta Kappa (PDK), an international professional education fraternity, sponsored five of the scholarships. Undergraduate recipients of PDK scholarships must fulfill student teaching requirements during the 2002-2003 year; graduate students must take at least nine semester hours of academic credit during the next two terms.

The Mark W. Delzell Memorial Scholarship was established by Delzell's children, DoraLee and Doug Throckmorton; Don and DeAnna Delzell; and Allen and Linda Delzell from memorials received in 1996 at the death of his wife Nettie, who graduated from USD in 1962. Dr. Delzell was dean of the School of Education from 1951 to 1969. Following Delzell's retirement, the South Dakota Board of Regents named the Delzell Education Center in his


The Pauline V. Champeny Endowed Scholarship is for a student preparing for a teaching career. USD Foundation staff are currently working on writing a memorandum of agreement which will provide in great detail the disbursement requirements from this fund.

Sandra Addy established the Marie Reetz and Samuel R. Turney Scholarship in 1988, in honor of her mother, Marie Reetz Turney.

The fund for the Elizabeth Fritsch Memorial Scholarship was established in 1985 by John and Robin Fritsch in memory of their daughter, Elizabeth. The scholarship goes to a senior majoring in special education who volunteers in the community, especially to assist the handicapped.

The Tom Walter Scholarship is given to a student who is a sophomore or junior education major. Preference is given to students who graduated from Vermillion High School.

For Phi Delta Kappa scholarships, applications are available in Room 115 of the School of Education. For more information on any of the scholarships, visit

This year's recipients of education scholarships are listed below by hometown:

Centerville � Kylie Knutson received the Phi Delta Kappa, Reetz-Turney and Fritsch Scholarships.

Elk Point � Stacey Scott, daughter of Marilyn and Russell Scott, received the Pauline V. Champeny Scholarship.

Gayville � Darcey Bye, daughter of Todd and Lynne Bye, received the Phi Delta Kappa Scholarship.

Parkston � Suzanne Maxwell, daughter of Bruce and Barb Maxwell, received the

Delzell Memorial Scholarship.

Vermillion � Megan Tolsma, daughter of Lauren and Joan Tolsma, received the

Tom Walter Memorial Scholarship; Kristy Schnabel received a graduate student scholarship from Phi Delta Kappa.

Yankton � Christine Lesher received a graduate student scholarship from Phi Delta Kappa.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>