USD pathology students honored

USD pathology students honored Five students studying pathology at The University of South Dakota School of Medicine have been selected by faculty to receive awards. The scholarships are provided by LCM Pathologists, P.C.

The LCM is a professional corporation of 16 pathologists with offices located in Sioux Falls, Yankton and Mankato, MN.

These pathologists have served as the full-time faculty of the USD School of Medicine for over 30 years. The LCM provides $1,500 each year toward scholarships for sophomore students who receive honors in the year-long pathology course. The course is an introduction to disease.

Up to three of the top students receive the "Karl H. Wegner Award for High Honors in Pathology" and the other honor students receive the "LCM Award for Honors in Pathology." These awards aid in distinguishing these students when they are applying for resident training after graduation.

The LCM group was founded by Karl H. Wegner, M.D., who served as chair of the department and dean of the medical school. He served through the transition of the school from a two-year program to a full four-year M.D. degree-granting program. After his retirement, Dr. Wegner served on the South Dakota Board of Regents and was inducted into the South Dakota Hall of Fame.

Currently he holds the title of Distinguished Emeritus Professor from USD. The new Regional Health Sciences Library and Information Center on the

Sioux Falls campus is named for him and his wife Mary Jo.

This year's Karl H. Wegner Award for Excellence in Pathology and High Honors in Pathology went to Crystal Bonnichsen of Highmore.

The LCM Award for Honors in Pathology has been presented to Amy McEntaffer of Sioux Falls; Jared Gayken of Sioux Falls; Michele Corsini of Tea; and Patrick Munson of Sioux Falls.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>