Clubs Card players socialize Wednesday

Correction: The last Monday of the month Sept. 30 card party, at the Senior Citizens Center, listed Louise Eklund as a server which should have read Louise Scott.

The center had 42 card players � 18 pitch, four pinochle and 20 bridge � Wednesday, Oct. 2 for the afternoon.

Bridge prizes went to Russ Heikes, first, Jim Prosser, second, Howard Melstad, third, Marlys Miller, blind bogey and Lola Christensen, low.

Refreshments were served by Phyllis Prusa, Maxine Millette and Julia Cleland.

Men and women are welcome. No reservations are needed.

CFEL members attend convention

Members of Clay County CFEL attended the State Convention in Aberdeen on Sept. 26, 27 and 28. They were Bev Blackford, Grace Gregg, Maurene Kronaizl and Helen Cummins. They were all from Vermillion.

Emeritus Club hosts candidates

The USD Emeritus Club met Oct. 2 at noon at the Silver Dollar Restaurant. Special guests were the candidates for the legislative offices from District 17. Judy Clark and John Reedy, candidates for the South Dakota Senate and candidates for the South Dakota House of Representatives, Jere Chapman, B.J. Nesselhuf, and Donna Schafer spoke to the members. Another special guest was Jeremiah Johnson, grandson of co-chair, Allen Johnson.

The candidates all spoke of their qualifications to be sent to Pierre. Each spoke of previous experience in various kinds of either public office or public service. The incumbents cited their experience in Pierre at the state level. The candidates who are running for the first time cited their experience, interests, and each candidate spoke of their wish to represent Clay County. All guaranteed that they would be a strong voice for their constituents in Pierre should they be elected.

Our next meeting will be Nov. 6 at 11:30 a.m. at the Silver Dollar.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>