Farm Bureau schedules annual meeting Nov. 18-20

Farm Bureau schedules annual meeting Nov. 18-20 "Farm Bureau � Positive Performance" is the theme for the 85th annual meeting of the South Dakota Farm Bureau Federation to be held Nov. 18-20 in Sioux Falls. Several hundred Farm Bureau leaders representing 47 county Farm Bureaus will gather for informational sessions and to conduct the business of the general farm and ranch organization.

Monday afternoon sessions on Nov. 18 will include Mike Kuck, South Dakota NRCS with a presentation on Conservation Programs for South Dakota Farmers and Ranchers, and Steve Cutler, director, South Dakota Farm Service Agency, with a 2002 Farm Bill update.

On Tuesday morning, Terry Gilbert, American Farm Bureau Women's Committee chair, will speak at the Partners in Ag Breakfast. Joe Richardson, president and CEO of Harnessing Dakota Winds, will present information on the development of wind energy in South Dakota.

South Dakota Farm Bureau President Richard Kjerstad, a cattle and grain producer from Wall, will give his president's report at the All Time High Membership Luncheon. In 2002, there are over 11,400 dues paying Farm Bureau members, an all time high achievement.

John Rademacher, American Farm Bureau general counsel, will report on Farm Bureau efforts in the legal system, followed by Dr. David Day, University of South Dakota law professor, with an update on efforts to declare South Dakota Constitutional Amendment E unconstitutional.

Long time Nebraska Farm Bureau President Bryce Niedig will be the speaker at the Farm Family Awards Banquet.

Farm Bureau delegates will adopt policies and elect board members and officers.

All sessions will be held at the Sheraton Hotel and Sioux Falls Convention Center and are open to the public.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>