Jacobs named S.D. professor of the year

Jacobs named S.D. professor of the year The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) has named University of South Dakota Early Childhood Education Professor Geralyn M. Jacobs the 2002 South Dakota Professor for the Year in an announcement made Nov. 21 in Washington, DC.

Jacobs received her B.S. from the University of Dayton in 1973. She continued her education at The University of South Dakota, receiving her M.A. in 1991 and Ed.D. in 1993. She joined the USD faculty in 1995.

Since 1981, the Carnegie Foundation/CASE U.S. Professors of the Year program has rewarded professors for their dedication, commitment to students and innovative teaching methods.

Eastern Star

installs officers

Juno #44 OES held its monthly meeting Dec. 9. A regular business meeting included annual reports of the secretary and treasurer. Dolly Larson, installing officer, introduced her assistants: Grand Chaplain Betty Larson, Installing Marshal Beverly Orr, and Installing Organist John Ryger of Beresford.

The following officers were installed for 2003: Worthy Matron Sigrid Nissen, Worthy Patron Duane Peterson, Associate Matron Grace Bick, Associate Patron Calvin Rosenbaum, Secretary Vera Emerson, Treasurer Jean Ann Prosser, Associate Conductress Fran Moore, Chaplain Alton Siecke, Marshal DonaDee Peterson, Organist Agnes Sealey, Adah Sylvia Rosenbaum, Ruth Marilyn Siecke, Esther Fern Morse, Martha Mercy Hobbs and Helen Manly, Worder.

Patron and matron incoming and outgoing gifts were given.

Evening refreshments were served by Audry Norby and Sigrid Nissen.

Eastern Stars and friends eat out each third Thursday at various cafes. The group will eat Dec. 19 at Little Italy's.

Seniors avoid snow, cold

There was snow and cold weather outside, but 40 players enjoyed Wednesday afternoon, Dec. 4, inside with fun and fellowship.

Two new members at the center, Bob and Elaine Michael from Akron, IA joined in the bridge competition with 22 players. Prizes were: Adeline Isaacson, first; Howard Melstad, second; Barbara Kronaizl, third; Bob Michael, bogey; and Ernie Miller, low. There were 18 pitch players.

Refreshments were furnished by Adeline Isaacson and

Shirley Riehle.

University Village

concept explained

With Ted Van Bruggen leading and Max Legget on piano we made it through the "Fourth Day of Christmas" before memories and voices failed us.

Theodore Muenster, president, USD Foundation, presented the possibility of developing "University Village," a retirement community, in Vermillion. The concept is being explored by the City of Vermillion, Sioux Valley Health Systems, Dakota Hospital Association, USD Alumni Association, and interested individuals.

A company specializing in designing and promoting this type of specialized housing, centered around a college or university, will be hired to help with further planning. Muenster invites participation of the club and of individual retirees.

The meeting was well attended; very practical questions and suggestions followed the presentation. We were assured that our input will be included in the planning as the design materializes.

By unanimous voice vote Dr. James Heisinger was chosen to represent the Emeritus Club on the University Planning Committee. He was nominated by the retiring representative, Dr. Allen Johnson.

Emeritus Club will not meet in January. Our next meeting will be at the Silver Dollar, at 11:30 a.m. on Feb. 5, 2003.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>