USD announces winter candidates for degrees

USD announces winter candidates for degrees Approximately 350 students were candidates for degrees at The University of South Dakota's 27th winter commencement exercises held Dec. 14 at the DakotaDome in Vermillion.

Dr. Jeremiah Reedy, co-founder and president of the board of directors of a Core Knowledge Charter School, St. Paul, MN, delivered a commencement address titled "What Do We Have That We Have Not Received as a Gift?" Reedy also received an Alumni Achievement Award during the ceremony.

Reedy was born in Rapid City, and grew up in Vermillion, graduating from Vermillion High School in 1952. He earned his bachelor's degree in Italy, a master's degree in Classics from USD in 1960, another master's in 1964 and a Ph.D. in Classical Studies from the University of Michigan in 1968.

At Michigan, Reedy specialized in classical philology and comparative linguistics.

Reedy taught at USD as a teaching fellow, instructor and assistant professor in the early 1960s and worked closely for many years with Grace L. Beede.

He has taught Classics at Macalester College (St. Paul, MN) since 1968 and served nine years as chair of the department and coordinator of the Humanities Program.

He is the author of 25 scholarly articles and author or co-author of eight books. He has two more books close to completion. During the spring term of 1997, while on sabbatical from Macalester, Reedy was a visiting scholar in philosophy at Oxford. He was the founding president of the Minnesota Association of Scholars and serves in the Board of Directors of the National Association of Scholars.

In August of 2002 at a conference in Greece he was elected honorary president of the International Association for Greek Philosophy. He is scheduled to retire from Macalester in the spring of 2003.

The introduction was delivered by Dr. Teri James Bellis and President James W. Abbott. Faculty marshals included USD professors Steve Bucklin, Mary Mock, Maryls Boschee, David Moen, Diane Duin, Karen Olmstead, Kurt Hackemer, Timothy Schorn, Werner Kitzler, Jerry Yutrzenka and Vernon McBride.

Emeriti faculty Joan England, Orla Christensen and M. Robert Stoner served as honorary marshals. Lead marshals were Barbara Yutrzenka and Leon Korte.

The USD Chamber Singers, under the direction of Dr. Matthew Harden, performed The Star Spangled Banner, In The Night We Shall Go In and the Alma Mater. Pianist and USD Music Department Chair Dr. Larry B. Schou performed processional and recessional music; Pomp and Circumstance and Sinfonia.

USD Alumni Association Board member Brian Radke of Sioux Falls delivered the alumni welcome to graduating students. USD President James W. Abbott and Regent Shane C. Penfield of Vermillion conferred the degrees.

Degree abbreviations are:

AS � Associate of Science BA � Bachelor of Arts

BFA � Bachelor of Fine Arts BLS � Bachelor of Liberal Studies

BM � Bachelor of Music BS � Bachelor of Science

BSAH � Bachelor of Science in Allied Health

BSBA � Bachelor of Science in Business Administration

BSED � Bachelor of Science in Education BSHA � Bachelor of Science in Health Administration

BSR � Bachelor of Science in Recreation EDD � Doctor of Education

EDS � Specialist in Education JD � Juris Doctor

MA � Master of Arts MBA � Master of

Business Administration

MD � Doctor of Medicine MFA � Master of Fine Arts

MM � Master of Music MNS � Master of Natural Science

MPACC � Master of Professional Accountancy MPA � Master of Public Administration

MS � Master of Science PHD � Doctor of Philosophy

* University Honors Program- The designation of University Scholar is an unusual and significant honor granted to an undergraduate student by The University of South Dakota. In addition to high level scholarship, it requires participation in the University Honors Program culminating in successful completion of a substantial creative senior project.

The designation of University Honors signifies that an undergraduate student has completed all the requirements of the University Honors Program. This program includes a broad curriculum involving the completion of a series of seminars and maintenance of high academic standards.

Candidates for degrees from the Vermillion area are:

BERESFORD: Lucas Timothy Adams, BS, Psychology.

CENTERVILLE: Gary L. DeJong, BS, Psychology.

DAKOTA DUNES: Ben Thomas Bruneau, BS, History; Brent J. Olson, MBA; James Allen Kurina, MBA; Jesse Robert Olson, BSBA, Management.

ELK POINT: Andrea Michelle Davis, BS, Psychology.

HURLEY: Ryan Carl Tronbak, MS, Occupational Therapy.

JEFFERSON: Amy S. Honomichl, MBA; Trista A. Delperdang, BS, Dental Hygiene.

VERMILLION: Alison Elizabeth Hogen Larson, BSED, Elementary Education; Angela Marie Bjorkman, BS, Psychology, Cum Laude; Charles L. Schwartz, PHD, Educational Psychology and Counseling; Cheryl A. Jacobs, MA, Educational Administration; Chris F. Hugo, MBA; Damian Thomas Donahoe, MA, Secondary Education; Daniel James Dennison, MBA; David Ryan Berg, BA, German, English, Giles Timms, MA, Computer Science; Jenni Lynn Rupp, BS, Criminal Justice Studies, Psychology; Kenneth Joseph Connor, MPA; Lisa K. Vik, EDS, Educational Administration; Lisa Marie Cosgrove-Osborn, MBA; Matthew Ryan Beach, BSBA, Management; Patrick T. McDonald, MA, Special Education; Sarah Elizabeth Iles, BA, Anthropology, Magna Cum Laude; Sarah Jane Gerhardt, BSED, Elementary Education; Stacy R. Brown, BS, Psychology; Stephanie M. Bucklin, MA, Communication Studies; Sandra L. Gall, BS, English, University Honors, Cum Laude; James Louis Lodu, BSHA.

VIBORG: Shawn Allen Vannorsdel, BS, Economics.

YANKTON: Benjamin Scott Nelsen, BS, Criminal Justice Studies; Chad Michael Wieseler, BS, Biology; Denise Kae Reisner, BS, English; Gretchen Sue Slate, MA, Interdisciplinary Studies; Jane Marie Fender, BS, Social Work; Jeffrey Allen Simonsen, BSBA, Management; Joel V. Merkwan, MA, Psychology; Keith Aaron Brockberg, BSED, English Education; Lisa C. Heimes-Wiepen, MA, Educational Psychology and Counseling; Lisa Lynn Perk, BS, Psychology, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Studies; Lisa M. Karstens Hansen, EDD, Educational Administration; Paul A. Creviston, MA, Political Science; Rachel Dawn Gertsema, MBA; Robyn Marie Bahn, BSR; Ryan Patrick Heine, BSED, Elementary Education; Sarah E. Bixler, BSAH, Alcohol and Drug Abuse Studies; Thomas Michael Petersen, BSBA, Economics.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>