Winner Warriors lose to VHS Tanagers 70-59

Winner Warriors lose to VHS Tanagers 70-59 by Jim Prosser The Vermillion Tanagers downed the Winner Warriors 70-59 in boys' basketball Jan. 25 at McCook Lake in the first round of the Dakota Valley Classic.

"This was a physical team," said Vermillion varsity coach Jason Huska. "We did a nice job moving the ball offensively and breaking their press. Defensively, we mixed it up and made some good adjustments the second half. It was a good win for us."

The Vermillion varsity held onto the win from the free throw line, making 18 of 23 charity tosses to 5 of 9 for Winner. The Tanagers committed only seven turnovers in the victory.

The Tanagers took the lead 24-19 after the first quarter, and margins of 14-12 and 15-11 in the second and third quarters boosted the lead to 53-42 going into the final period.

The Vermillion varsity improved its record to 5-7, while Winner dropped to 5-3.

Vermillion hit 4 of 10 three-pointers. The Tanagers sank 24 of 41 field goals, while Winner was 25 of 52 from the field. Winner made 4 of 11 three-pointers.

Several significant individual efforts contributed to the win.

"Jon Brooks did a great job breaking the press," coach Huska said. "He led our offense with 32 points and made six assists."

Individual Stats, Vermillion varsity: Scoring � Jon Brooks, 32, Nick Olson, 16, Adam Brunick, 11, Nathan Boots, 7, Jeff Brevik, 2, Dave Yutrzenka, 2. Rebounds � Olson, 7. Assists � Brooks, 6. Steals � Boots, 3, Brown, 3.

Individual Stats, Winner: Scoring � Brandon Bell, 20, Blake Tideman, 14, Brett Gardner, 12, Matt McCready, 6, Jake Phillips, 4, Josh Klunt, 2, Marty Kendrick, 1. Rebounds � Tideman, 6, McCready, 4. Assists � Bell, 4.

Team rebounds: Vermillion varsity � 21, Winner � 22. Team fouls: Vermillion varsity � 15, Winner � 22.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>