Vocalists successful at contest Feb. 12

Vocalists successful at contest Feb. 12 The VHS Choral Department participated in SDHSAA Region I Small Group Vocal Contest on Wednesday, Feb. 12 in Yankton.

VHS took 37 solos, nine duets and 16 ensembles/large groups. After hard work and many hours of preparation, the singers took home over 80 percent division I (superior) ratings, including three division I+ ratings, one of those being VHS Show Choir Rhythm in Red for the third year in a row.

In addition, all 16 groups taken to contest received a division I rating. They also received 12 division II (excellent) ratings. Choir members were awarded a total of 238 superior medals.

The following ensembles received division I+ ratings:

VHS Show Choir Rhythm in Red, All-State Large Group (Amanda Aga, Noelle Harden, Deanna Russell, Cassie McBride, Anna Wellsfry, Heather Reeves, Rebecca Gehm, Laura Aga, Catherine Odson, Sarah Gregg, Justin Manning, Zach Holoch, Mike Clark, Zach Mortensen, Mark Amiotte and Paul Wait), and Heather Reeves � solo.

The following soloists were awarded division I (superior) ratings:

Monica Wing, Camille Andrews, Mike Clark, Laura Aga, Ellen Odson, Joelle Mulder, Zach Holoch, Zach Mortensen, Cassie McBride, Catherine Odson (piano), Noelle Harden, Rebecca Gehm, C.J. Harden, Kristie Olson, Anna Geis, Molly O'Connor, Carrie Christensen, Molly Beeman, Erin Austin, Paige Prosser, Lisa Doohan, Amanda Aga, Ben Rogge, Sarah Gregg, Anna Wellsfry, Deanna Russell, Ben Rogge.

The following soloists were awarded division II (excellent) ratings:

Stephanie Morse, Mark Amiotte, Robin Rolston, Meagan O'Connor, Catherine Odson, Holly Heaton, Jacque Smidt, Katie Cafruny, Michele Morse, Collin Prosser, Mary Thompson.

The following duets received division I ratings:

Carrie Christensen/Mike Clark, Cassie McBride/Noelle Harden, Laura Aga/Zach Mortensen, C.J. Harden/Noelle Harden, Sarah Gregg/Justin Manning, Kayla Nelson/Molly Beeman, Sarah Gregg/Holly Heaton, Erin Austin/Jacque Smidt.

The following duet received a division II rating: Michelle Morse/Camille Andrews.

The following ensembles received division I ratings:

Senior Women's Large Group (Sarah Lias, Tara Job, Kaylie Heesch, Jenna Gilkyson, Wellsfry, Andrews, Joelle Mulder, C. Odson, Brittany Sand, K. Nelsen, M. Beemen, Katie Miskimins, M. Morse and Metrice Zeman), Junior Women's Large Group (Kendra Gottsleben, Heaton, Alisha McPherson, Natalie Johnson, Miranda Halvorson, N. Harden, Gregg, Rolston, Christie Berry, Colette Joy, Melinda Tank, Cafruny, McBride, Ana Ackerman, Ashley Hofer and Jenna Mulder), Sophomore Women's Large Group (Mary Thompson, Hillary McCann, Tracy Cook, Georgia Gray-Lobe, Molly O'Connor, Holly Goeden, L. Aga, Ellissa Jordt, Ali Loen, E. Odson, Theresa Dendinger, Taylor Drake, Austin, Smidt, Brittany Weydert, Jackie Thomas and S. Morse), Freshmen Women's Large Group (P. Prosser, Allison Beeman, Meagan O'Connor, Trisha Irvine, Geis, Shaina Hayes, Molly Woodard, Shellie Knutson, Jennie Bellis, Erin Hesla, Sarah Mayer, Maggie Thorne, Brittany Campbell, Stacey Munkvold, Christensen, Kim Baker and Danielle Fox), Men's Large Group (Holoch, Roman LaMie, Jon Donald, Manning, Chuck Odson, Dan Pearson, Tom Dendinger, Steven Millage, Tyler Zimmerman, Mortensen, Derrick Melhaff, Clark C. Prosser, Rogge, Paul Wait, Chris Jensen, Amiotte and C. Harden), Jazz Choir (A. Aga, Russell, Gregg, McBride, L. Aga, Reeves, Gehm, Christensen, Austin, Catherine Odson, Nelson, Heaton, Mortensen, Holoch, Manning, C. Harden, Clark, Rogge, Amoitte and Wait), Men's Octet (LaMie, Donald, Chuck Odson, C. Harden, Wait, Prosser, Amiotte and Rogge), Sophomore Women's Triple Trio (M. Thompson, K. Olson, Molly O'Connor, L. Aga, Heather Howitz, Loen, E. Odson, Wing, Austin and Smidt), Senior Women's Triple Trio (Russell, Doohan, Wellsfry, A. Aga, Andrews, Gehm, Reeves, Catherine Odson, M. Morse), Men's Quartet (Holoch, Manning, Mortensen and Clark), Women's Quartet (Russell, A. Aga, Reeves, Gehm), Freshmen Women's Quartet (Woodard, A. Beeman, Bellis, Knutson), Junior Trio (Heaton, N. Harden, McBride) and Freshman Trio (P. Prosser, Geis, Christensen).

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>