Clay RWS holds annual meeting

Clay RWS holds annual meeting A record crowd attended the Clay Rural Water Systems' 24th annual meeting held March 22 at the St. Agnes School Auditorium in Vermillion.

Over 100 members heard reports from officers and staff, who reviewed the systems' financial and operating statistics for 2002. Updates were given on several construction projects currently in the planning stages. Two retiring directors, Ken Frick of Beresford, and Joe Hubert of Vermillion, were recognized with Clay Rural Water System Achievement Awards for their nine years of service to the board of directors.

Members viewed a video on water quality and regulations. Terry Plucker of the South Dakota Association of Rural Water Systems gave an update on statewide activities.

The results of the recent district elections were announced. One member of the board of directors was re-elected for a three year term while two new directors were elected. John Haver of Wakonda, was re-elected in District I. Tom Manning of Beresford, was newly elected in District II while Randy Erickson of Spink, was newly elected in District III.

Following the annual meeting the board re-organized and elected officers for the coming year. Glenn Nelson of Vermillion, was elected president, Rick Peterson of Vermillion, was elected vice-president and Leon Fenhaus, Wakonda, secretary-treasurer.

Clay Rural Water is a member owned, non-profit water system that provides water service to 1,600 locations in Clay, Union and portions of Yankton, Turner and Lincoln counties.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>