Wakonda students do well in writing, drawing, reading

Wakonda students do well in writing, drawing, reading Vermillion Valley Reading Council announced winners for the Young Authors, Illustrators, and Reading challenge.

All winners and honorable mention recipients at this level will be invited to a brunch at Wakonda on Saturday, April 12. All state entries will be invited to Rapid City on Saturday, April 5; look for an invitation in the mail.

Young Author winners include first-grader Josie Huber, third-grader Logan Mayer, and sophomore Alex Nielsen. Receiving honorable mention were seventh-grader Chris Nelsen, eighth-grader Bo Martz, sophomore Jeanie Stockland, and junior Kim Henriksen.

Young Illustrators contest winners included third-grader Pearl Gaidelis, fourth-grader Roxanne Polley and eighth-grader Amy Luxem. Honorable mentions went to first-grader Makayla Mohr; second-grader Breanna Johnston; seventh-graders Jordan Mayer, Luke Lebert and Katie Sokolowski and eighth-graders Jessica Vollmer and Phillip Devine.

The Reading Challenge contest produced eight Wakonda winners, including first-graders Devon Brewer and Cody Geuther, fourth-grader Nicole Schroeder, eighth-grader Andy Jensen, and sophomore Jeanie Stockland.

Other schools that belong to the Vermillion Valley Reading Council include Centerville, Beresford, Vermillion, Gayville-Volin, Irene, Viborg, and Parker.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>