Cub Scouts host Pinewood Derby

Cub Scouts host Pinewood Derby Cub Scout Pack 165 in Vermillion hosted the 2003 Pinewood Derby Sunday afternoon, March 23, in the Trinity Lutheran Church Fellowship Hall.

Winners in the Cub bracket were Alex Osborne, first; Tedd Schaffer, second and Justin Moos, third.

Webelos winners were Tony Henderson, first for the second straight year; Justin Beckman, second; and Andrew McCann, third.

Open bracket winners (parents and siblings) were Nick Schaffer, first; Jordan Moos, second; and Kent Osborne, third.

Workers included line judges Shawn Fick and Tony Henderson, bracket operator Chuck Beckman, weigh-in registration, Shelly Joins and Cindy Osborne, and starter Tate McCann.

John Morrell provided hot dogs and Jones' Food Center provided buns for the competitors.

Attending the March 23 event was professional Scouter Cory Davis, Yankton. The winners qualified for the Lewis & Clark Trail District 2003 Pinewood Derby, held April 12 in the Yankton Mall.

Of the six trophies presented, four were awarded to Vermillion Cubs. Placing second and third in the Cub Division was Alex Osborne and Ted Schaffer, both of Vermillion, averaging 2.931 and 2.972 seconds respectively.

Winning the Webelos division was Tony Henderson with an average time of 2.908 seconds. One of his runs with a heat time of 2,866 in a track record. Justin Beckman brought home a third place trophy with an average time of 2.947 seconds. Andrew McCann placed seventh with an average time of 2.999.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>