Disaster loan deadline approaches

Disaster loan deadline approaches Businesses in some Nebraska, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and South Dakota counties have until April 22 to file applications for low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA). The SBA's Economic Injury Disaster Loans are available for businesses dependent on farmers and ranchers sustaining crop losses due to unseasonably cold spring temperatures, high winds, frost, extreme heat, hail, grasshopper infestation, and drought that occured from Oct. 1, 2001, continuing. Farmers and ranchers are not eligible for these loans. However, nurseries that are victims of drought disasters can apply. Businesses in the following South Dakota counties are eligible to apply: Bon Homme, Charles Mix, Clay, Gregory, Todd, Tripp, Union and Yankton.

Applications and further information can be obtained by calling the SBA toll-free at 1-800-366-6303 or TDD 817-267-4688 for the hearing impaired.

These loans are intended to assist businesses in offsetting working capital losses which they suffered as a result of the severe weather reducing the crop income of the area farmers and ranchers. Small businesses claiming to have been physically injured by the disaster are not eligible.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>