Track teams face SC North at SIC Invitational Dual

Track teams face SC North at SIC Invitational Dual by Jim Prosser The Tanager boys' track team was paired against the Sioux City North Stars in a quadruple dual meet, involving the ex-Sioux Interstate Conference at the DakotaDome on April 1.

The duals had Sioux Falls Washington vs. Sioux City West, Sioux Falls Roosevelt vs. Sioux City Heelan, and Sioux Falls Lincoln vs. Sioux City East to complete the field in competition. No team points were tabulated.

Field events results for the Tanagers were: Long jump � third, Jerad Burcham 16' 11.5"; and high jump ��first, Jerad Hesla 6'.

B.J. Campbell placed second (7.16) and Burcham was third (7.34) in the 60M dash. John Miller was third in the 1600m run timed in 5:38. Craig Powell won the 3200m run (11.06), while A.J. Manning placed third.

In the relays, Vermillion won the 4x400m in 3:44 (Bart Miller, Tyler Brown, Justin Manning, and Kellen Cusick). The 4x88m in 8:44 (Bart Miller, Tyler Brown, Justin Manning, and Craig Powell).

In the girls' meet field event results had Anne Carlson finishing second in both the long jump (15'6.25") and high jump (4'8").

The 55m dash had Nicki Nelson in second (8.29) and Jena Gilkyson third. Individual running events showed Michelle Rasmussen in second place for the 400m (1.04). The 800m had a one/two sweep by the Tanagers' Kayla Mollet first (2:53), and Lindsey Isaacson second, while the 1600m run had Katie Dehner in second. The 3200m run went one/two with Kayla Nelson (13:58) and Emily Renner.

Vermillion won two of the four relays � the 4x100m in a time of :55.3 with the runners Morgan Brooks, Katarina Gombocz, Kayla Mollet and Michelle Rasmussen, and the 4x800m in 10:54 (Jena Gilkyson, Nicki Nelson, Heather Heine, and Annie Carlson).

The Dakota Valley Invite was postponed last Saturday due to weather conditions.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>