South Dakota Retired Teachers meet in Pierre

South Dakota Retired Teachers meet in Pierre Members of the South Dakota Retired Teachers Association (SDRTA) met in Pierre at the Kings Inn on May 1-2, for their annual convention. General session speakers included Rebecca Villarreal, NRTA community service program consultant; Gale Ferris, Office of Aging; Jay Vogt, deputy director of the S.D. State Historical Society and state historic preservation officer; Dr. James O. Hansen, member of SDRS Board; and Rick Weiland, state AARP director.

The SDRTA gave the following awards: Certificate of Outstanding Service Awards to Ella Frey, Oahe Area RTA (Mobridge); Rose Martin, Lemmon Area RTA; Gale "Rip" Rohr, Watertown RTA; Bill Hild, Aberdeen Area RTA; Art Shaver, Sioux Falls Area RTA; Dorothy L. Erhart, Northern Hills RTA; Thelma Travis, Pierre Area RTA; Mary Geffre Johnson, Southeastern Area RTA (Vermillion); and Eliner Drake, Huron Area RTA.

Reminiscent Teacher Essay Awards were given to E. Orville Evenson, Aberdeen Area RTA; Mildred Herron, Southeastern Area RTA (Vermillion); Erna Rieger, Oahe Area RTA (Mobridge); Elizabeth Ruff, Northern Hills RTA; Phyllis Scott, Pierre Area RTA; Ruth Vierreck, Kimball Area RTA; and Betty Lloyd Johnson, Winner Area RTA.

SDRTA President's Awards were given to John Hirsch, Black Hills Area RTA; Wyland Borth, Pierre Area RTA; and Don Van Cleave, Winner Area RTA.

The prestigious SDRTA Florence Krieger Award was presented to Richard W. Van Beek, Aberdeen Area RTA.

A memorial service for 55 deceased members was conducted by Jerry Mayer, SDRTA vice-president, and John Hirsch, membership chair. They were assisted by Rebecca Villareal and accompanied by Joyce Goehring.

Next year's annual convention will be held at the Kings Inn in Pierre on May 6-7.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>