Tanagers compete in state track meet

Tanagers compete in state track meet by Jim Prosser The Tanager boys' and girls' track teams were in Sturgis on Friday and Rapid City on Saturday, May 30-31, participating in the SDHSAA State Tournament.

In the 64 school Class A division, the girls placed 23rd and the boys took 19th.

The only Tanager entrants in the girls' section were Anne Carlson and Michelle Rasmussen. Carlson was entered in the long jump and triple jump, while Rasmussen ran in the 800M race.

Their final standings were: Carlson did not qualify in long jump; third place in triple jump (a VHS record at 35'9.25").

Rasmussen placed fifth with a 2:23.89 time. She finishes her high school career as the second fastest 800M runner in VHS history.

For the boys' section, individual events results for Vermillion were: high jump � Jerad Hesla 5'9" which did not qualify for finals but his season best 6'1" puts him fifth in the state's top 10 list. Justin Manning placed 11th in the 800M, and 13th in the 1600M.

All five relay teams were qualified for state. The 4X100M team of BJ Campbell, B. Miller, J. Burcham, and B. Oberle had a 12th place finish and the 4X200M relay team of Campbell, Miller, K. Cusick, and Oberle placed 10th.

The 4X400M team missed qualifying by .05 of a second as they placed ninth with team members Cusick, Miller, T. Brown, and Oberle timed in 3:32.26 (1.7 seconds faster than their season best).

The 1600 sprint medley team of Campbell, Cusick, Oberle and Brown placed second in 3:41.32, and the 4X800M relay team of Miller, C. Powell, J. Manning and Brown placed fourth with a time of 8:25.96.

The same foursome had qualified in the region with an 8:22.3 timing � the third best time in VHS history.

by Jim Prosser

The Vermillion Post #1 team played host to Freeman Post #248 May 29, raising its season record to 1-2 as the homestanding Vermillion's Kyle Mollet pitched an excellent outing giving up two runs on three hits, while walking three and registering five K's in a five inning 17-2 blowout against Freeman. He was backed up by a nearly perfect fielding crew which came up with some spectacular catches and throws including an Eric Rickord to Collin Prosser 8-3 double play.

Line scores: Freeman � 2 runs, 3 hits, 5 errors, 6 lob; Vermillion � 17 runs, 8 hits, 3 errors, 2 lob.

Vermillion took advantage of several miscues (five walks, seven wild pitches, three passed balls, and two hit batters, to go along with their 5 fielding errors) and coasted to the five inning rout.

Leading the onslaught was Andy Ofstehage with 2-4 batting, three runs and three rbis; Drew Lawrence went 2-3 at bats, three runs and two rbis.

He was followed closely by Rickord going 1-3, scoring three and an rbi. Dan Holoch also went 1-3, driving in one and scoring two; Kevin Bleil was 1-4 with three runs scored; Jason Donald was 1-2, one run and two rbis; and Prosser drove in a run on a suicide squeeze play.

The Lewis & Clark Baseball Classic will be played June 6, 7 and 8 at Yankton and Vermillion.

Vermillion, a member of the Clark Division, will host division play at Prentis Park.

Game schedules at the local ball field are:

June 6 � 10 a.m., Vermillion vs. S. Sioux City; 12:30 p.m., Lennox vs. Omaha Bryan; 3 p.m., S. Sioux City vs. Parkston; 5:30 p.m., Parkston vs. Lennox; and 8 p.m., Omaha Bryan vs. Vermillion.

June 7 � 10 a.m., Vermillion vs. Lennox; 12:30 p.m., Omaha Bryan vs. Parkston; 3 p.m., Lennox vs. S. Sioux City; 5:30 p.m., S. Sioux City vs. Omaha Bryan; and 8 p.m., Parkston vs. Vermillion.

The site of June 8's play will be either Yankton or Vermillion. In the first game, scheduled at 11 a.m., the second place team of the Lewis Division will face the first place Clark Division team.

At 1:30 p.m., the first place Lewis Division team will face the second place Clark Division team.

The winners of the 11 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. games will compete for the tournament championship at 3 p.m.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>