Vermillion Post #1 team splits doubleheader vs. Dakota Valley

Vermillion Post #1 team splits doubleheader vs. Dakota Valley by Jim Prosser Sometime the stats of a game are misleading. The Vermillion Post #1 team faced DV Post #319 June 10, in a double header with unusual outcomes.

In game #1, Vermillion's Tim Bleil pitched a three inning stint giving up five runs on seven hits, and walking two while suffering through four errors in the field.

He was replaced by Collin Prosser who went four innings, surrendering two runs (one earned), on one hit, with four Ks and two BBs.

Line scores: Dakota Valley � 7 runs, 8 hits, 3 errors, 3 lob; Vermillion � 3 runs, 9 hits, 4 errors, 7 lob.

DV took advantage of some timely hitting and several miscues in the early innings, to build a 5-0 advantage, then made the necessary defensive plays to thwart any effort that Post #1 attempted. Batting and scoring Vermillion players: T. Bleil(1-3, 2 runs); Ryan Mockler(1-3, 1 rbi); Jared Burcham(2-4, 1 rbi); Ben Oberle(1-3, 1 run); Dan Holoch(2-3); Prosser and Alan Bos each were 1 � 3 batting.

Game #2 became a five inning rout as Post #1 racked up 14 runs on nine hits and committed only one error.

Ben Oberle scored his first win of the season when he held DV to three runs on four hits, four BB and one K. He was backed up by some excellent fielding � in fact, 14 of the 15 put outs came from non-pitching efforts.

Leading the offense was BJ Campbell who put his leadoff slot to good use with 2-2 batting, a walk and HBP, four runs and two RBIs; Drew Lawrence went 2-3 at bats, one run and five RBIs.

He was followed closely by Jerad Burcham going 2-2 scoring three and an RBI. Kevin Bleil went 1-4, driving in two and scoring two; Kyle Mollet was 1-2 with two runs scored; Eric Rickord was 1-3, one run and one RBI.

The combined win-loss brings the season record to 5 � 5.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>