Local law enforcement to receive video equipment

Local law enforcement to receive video equipment Attorney General Larry Long and Tom Dravland, secretary of public safety, have announced that the Clay County Sheriff's Office, the Vermillion Police Department and the USD Department of Public Safety will be receiving in-car video equipment for their squad cars. The Clay County Sheriff's Office will be receiving two cameras and the Vermillion Police Department and USD Department of Public Safety will each be receiving one.

The video equipment and cameras were funded by the U.S. Department of Justice's "Enforcing of Underage Drinking Laws" grant. Law enforcement agencies that indicated that they wanted to step up enforcement of underage drinking were eligible to receive the equipment.

"We are getting much closer to having in-car video equipment for all South Dakota squad cars," said Long. "The more tools we can give our officers, the more successful we are in securing arrests and convictions. The video equipment is also essential in ensuring greater officer safety."

Other agencies that are part of the distribution are the Oglala Sioux Tribe, the police departments of Mitchell, Garretson, Sisseton, Box Elder, Lead, Whitewood, Lemmon, Brandon, Freeman, Aberdeen, Clark, Clark, Highmore, McLaughlin, McIntosh and the sheriff's offices of Sanborn, Campbell, Marshall, Turner, Lyman, Hyde, Mellette, Minor, Aurora, Union, Hughes, Jones and Fall River counties.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>