Rounds appoints housing authority board members

Rounds appoints housing authority board members Chris Houlette of Pierre, Cindy Mydland of Brookings, and Bob Sutton of Pierre, have been named to serve on the South Dakota Housing Development Authority's (SDHDA) Board of Commissioners by Governor Mike Rounds.

Houlette, currently a staff attorney for South Dakota Advocacy Services, has over six years of legal experience. Houlette previously served as division counsel for the South Dakota Division of Insurance and staff attorney with Black Hills Legal Services in Rapid City.

Mydland is the president of Wells Fargo Bank in Brookings. She has worked closely with the housing industry in South Dakota and brings over 12 years of lending experience to the SDHDA Board.

Sutton serves as the executive director of the South Dakota Community Foundation. He serves on numerous boards of directors in South Dakota including South Dakotans for the Arts, Junior Achievement of South Dakota, and Dakotacare Insurance.

The three new members join current board members Kevin Culhane of Yankton, Leland Kleinsasser of Huron, John Rothstein of Mobridge, and Tom Schramm of Winner.

"These three individuals will bring great diversity, experience, and knowledge to our team," said Rothstein, the board's chairman. "They all have a common goal of working to better the housing opportunities for the residents of South Dakota."

SDHDA's commissioners are appointed by the governor and serve to establish policy for the organization and oversee its operation.

The South Dakota Housing Development Authority (SDHDA) is an independent, quasi-public agency that finances and develops affordable housing opportunities for low and moderate-income residents throughout South Dakota. SDHDA is totally self-supporting and receives no tax money, appropriations or other funding from the state. SDHDA does not discriminate against any person because of race, color, creed, religion, sex, handicapped, familial status or national origin.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>