Outstanding educator awards presented to Lindahl, Langworthy

Outstanding educator awards presented to Lindahl, Langworthy The University of South Dakota has announced that two Vermillion residents were the recipients of the first annual Outstanding Educator Award in the Basic Biomedical Sciences at the university.

Ron Lindahl, dean of Basic Biomedical Sciences, presented the award to Drs. Tom Langworthy and John Thomas.

Thomas and Langworthy are longtime residents of Vermillion, and between the two, have more than 65 years of teaching experience at the university. Both are faculty in the Cell and Molecular Biology Group. Langworthy's specialty is in microbial physiology and archaebacteria. Thomas' specialty is biochemistry and metabolism.

A committee comprised of Barry Vickrey, dean of the School of Law, Judy Sebesta, chair of the Department of History, Karen Olmstead, director of the Honors and Undergraduate Studies, and Royce Engstrom, vice president of Research and dean of Graduate Education, selected the winners from among seven nominees. The other nominees were Maureen Burton, Keith Miskimins, Curt Kost, Ann Settles and Gerry Yutrzenka.

The selection committee indicated that all the nominees were worthy and their decision was a difficult one.

"All nominees had outstanding student recommendations," Olmstead said. "But, John and Tom showed a remarkable level of curriculum development with a sustained effort in that area."

Many of the faculty within the division have received recognition for the research they've accomplished but the efforts of the teaching faculty have often gone unnoticed, Lindahl said. So last spring he established "The Outstanding Educator Award" in order to recognize the achievements of these deserving individuals.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>