Vermillion teams win on Sunday

Vermillion teams win on Sunday by Steven Thum Both of Vermillion's amateur baseball teams cruised to easy wins on Sunday in the second round of the District 7B Tournament played at Prentis Park.

In the first game of the afternoon, the Red Sox clobbered the Akron Rebels 20-0 in a game that was called after four innings via the mercy rule.

Jay Berkenpas held the Rebels to just one hit in getting the win. The lefty struck out five and walked none.

Every Red Sox starter got a hit but for one, and every starter scored a run. Robin Chute hit for the cycle and had five RBIs. Cress Murdock hit a grand slam homer in the first inning that set the tone for the


Steve Fejfar also homered, in addition to hitting a single and a double, collecting three RBIs in the process. Brian Boyer, while not getting a hit, did walk three times and scored three runs. The Red Sox collected a total of 16 hits overall.

In the second game of the afternoon, the Grey Sox beat the S.D. Over 50 Rushmores 15-0 in a game that ended after five innings via the mercy rule.

Shane Powell went the distance on the hill for the Grey Sox, allowing just two hits while walking three and striking out five.

Aaron Baedke spearheaded the offense for the Grey Sox by hitting a homer, a double, and a single, garnering five RBIs on the day. Ryan Baedke singled, doubled, drew a walk, and scored three runs.

Dave Holoch singled twice, driving in a run each time. Eric Rickord singled twice as well, driving in a run and scoring once. Bret Bartling and Nick Mayer both singled and scored two runs.

The Red Sox advanced to the District 7B title game, scheduled Aug. 6 in Larchwood. The Grey Sox ended the season for the Rushmores, and advanced in the consolation bracket, still eligible for a spot in the State B Tournament.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>