Boschee inducted in S.D. Beadle Club

Boschee inducted in S.D. Beadle Club Thirteen new members were inducted into the South Dakota Beadle Club at the annual meeting held in Pierre. The club, formed in 1933, took its name from General William Henry Harrison Beadle who promoted a sound system of public education in South Dakota. Under his leadership, laws were passed essential to protect the school lands. General Beadle's greatest service to South Dakota was his foresight, statesmanship and perserverance displayed in the preservation of school lands, specifically the 16th and 36th section in each township.

The purpose of the S.D. Beadle Club is to emulate the motives and ideals of General Beadle in support of the public schools of the state, and to safeguard the Education Permanent School Fund managed by the State Office of the Commissioner of School & Public Lands.

Any person engaged in school administration, teaching, or an allied educational profession for a minimum of ten years is eligible for selection to membership. Sixteen new members may be inducted annually.

Dr. Marlys Ann Boschee, USD professor, academic advisor and certification officer, Vermillion, was inducted into the club. Boschee, a long-time educator at both the elementary school and collegiate levels, was recognized for having made significant contributions to education in South Dakota.

She was selected twice by the USD Student Association as the USD Academic Advisor of the Year, has been a presentor at state, regional and national conferences and has published articles and co-authored two books.

Other 2003 inductees were Robert Caselli and Sid Stallinga, Sioux Falls; Deene Dayton, Pierre; David Gellerman, Yankton; Mark Greguson, Chester; Berle Johnson, White Lake; Dr. Dean Lindstrom, Beresford; Shayne McIntosh, Parkston; Thomas Marso, Parker; Marly Wilson, Watertown; Vern McKee and Dr. John Wollman, both of Huron.

Shayne McIntosh of Parkston was awarded the $500 S.D. Beadle Club Scholarship. He is the superintendent of the Parkston School District and is pursuing the doctorate in educational administration at The University of South Dakota.

The annual business meeting was conducted by President Ron Bennett, Salem; and Secretary/Treasurer Dr. Jan Ebersdorfer, Mitchell. Officers elected for 2004 are: president, Dr. Barry Furze, Sturgis; vice-president, Dr. Janet Varejcka, Lake Andes; secretary, Dr. Janet Claymore-Ross, Flandreau, and treasurer Kenneth Pickering, Pierre.

The club members commemorated the 165th year of the birth of General Beadle, the club's namesake.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>