USD honors seven during ’03 Hall of Fame banquet

USD honors seven during '03 Hall of Fame banquet Prior to the Coyote-Jackrabbit game, South Dakota honored seven individuals with ties to the Coyote Athletic program during a Hall of Fame banquet.

Inductees included former South Dakota football coach Dave Triplett, now with the University of Iowa Foundation in Iowa City, IA. Triplett recorded the second highest career win total (70) while at USD from 1979-87.

In addition, USD inducted former football standout Kip Pharis (1978-82), Brookings; Dan O'Brien (1976-80), an outstanding track and field and cross country performer, Sioux City, IA; discus national champion Heather Andrews (1988-92), Germany; Kyle Collins (1986-90), a 1,000-point scorer in basketball and a national champion in the high jump, Lincoln, NE; and standout swimmer Lorelei Heisinger (1985-88), Waterloo, IA. George Birger of Tucson, AZ, will be inducted as a special contributor.

As part of the ceremony, USD also recognized a historical moment in school history. This year, the Coyote Sports Hall of Fame committee selected the NCAA-record performance of five student athletes during a football game in 1986. In a 52-0 win over St. Cloud State on Nov. 1, 1986, five Coyotes each rushed for more than 100 yards. It is a mark that stands unmatched by any school in NCAA Division I, II or III.

Interestingly, the Coyotes' starting quarterback was injured and was not part of the contingent. The group included James Hambrick (125), Darryl Colvin (123), Tony Higgins (118), Dave Elle (109) and Joe Longueville (106). In all, the group had a school-record 581 yards rushing.

In addition, USD announced the establishment of the Bulldog Award, created in the memory of Tim J. Mojzik, who died in 2002. Mojzik played football at South Dakota from 1965-68.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>