‘I am really happy when…’

'I am really happy when…' by David Lias Who will someday be one of the most heralded artists or songwriters or authors in the nation?

Don't be surprised if they're living in Vermillion right now.

The Vermillion PTA joined with the state and national levels of the organization and sponsored the Reflections Program.

The theme of this event is "I am really happy when?"

Vermillion students were asked to submit original works in literature, musical composition, photography and visual arts. They responded with 60 entries.

The Reflections Program is designed to encourage and recognize each student's individual creativity.

Those creative works were put on display Jan. 15 in the middle school commons for parents and the public to enjoy.

Robin Richardson, one of the Reflections committee members, participated in a program later in the evening that formally recognized each student's work.

Richardson was clearly excited by the number of students who participated, and the community response to the Reflections Program.

"Just look at what our students can do," she said. "It is just amazing. And it so gratifying that businesses and other sponsors provided prizes to recognize what they have accomplished."

Participants include:


Julie Patrick, Ethan James, Raleigh Sykes, Kenneth Richardson, Hope Knedler, Kinsey James, Thomas Bosma, Elizabeth Sykes, Jacob Schliesman, Claire Richardson, Joseph Swanson, Elena Freeman, and Natalie Swanson.


Epiphany Knedler, Levi James, Austin Patrick, Megan Olson, Alex Robertson, Cassie Waage, Stephen Carpenter, Valerie Robinson, Rory Tucker, Heath Pederson, Morgan McDonald, Paige Durham, Sarah Stewart, Dylan Daniels, Jacob Hogen, Madeline Schmitt, Alexa Thomson, Amber Walker, Thomas Walker, and Reanna Bertram.

Middle School

John Patrick, Elizabeth Richardson, Dylan Daniels, Dru M. Daniels, Micaela Telleria, Jennifer Noiva, Jordan Robinson, Isaac Druin, Amanda Carpenter, Justin Maunu, and Lacey Leichtraim.

High School

Sarah Plate and Gregory Richardson.

Prizes for the students were provided by CorTrust Bank, Community First National Bank, First National Bank, Wells Fargo Bank, First Dakota National Bank, the Vermillion Federal Credit Union, ATK Karate, Deb's Hallmark, Jones' Food Center, Hy-Vee Food Store, Choice Pharmacy, The Candy Bouquet, Dairy Queen, Subway, Nook 'n Cranny, Hollywood Video, Burger King, McDonald's, the Vermillion Post Office, and Latte Da.

Members of the Reflections committee are Lisa Swanson, PTA president, Elizabeth Abbott, Caitlin Collier, Kari Jo James, Marilyn Trevz and Robin Richardson.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>