Native American Education Advisory Council formed

Native American Education Advisory Council formed Gov. Mike Rounds has announced the creation of a new advisory council focused on education in South Dakota's nine Native American reservations.

"We are working hard to improve the educational process statewide," Rounds said. "Our efforts cannot stop at the reservation boundaries."

The council will have the responsibility of advising the S.D. Department of Education (DOE) in the following areas:

* Assisting in the identification of education needs and issues;

* Recommending and assisting in implementation of policies and programs to address these identified needs:

* Assissting in planning for the annual Native American Education Summit;

* Identifying and promoting statewide programs that work in Native American education;

* Identifiying ways to implement the goals and initiatives mandated by the No Child Left Behind legislation.

The following individuals will serve on the council: Dr. Roger Bordeaux, Joe Ashley, Codi Russell, Dr. Cheri Farlee, Luke Yellow Robe, Lisa Cook, Jess Taken Alive, Ella Rae Stone, Lionel Bordeaux, Sherry Red Owl, Kim Winkelman, Lorenzo "Junior" Bettelyoun, Dr. Tad Perry, Lowell Amiotte, Dr. Art Zimiga, Dr. John Derby, Dr. Richard Bordeaux, and Maurice Twiss.

Roger Campbell of Tribal Government Relations; Dan Prue of the Department of Education; Bob Whitehead of the S.D. Education Association; Bonnie Haines, Bureau of Indian Affairs line officer; and Glenna Fouberg of the S.D. Board of Education, will also serve on the council.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>