20th annual Science Olympiad is March 27

20th annual Science Olympiad is March 27 The 20th Annual State Science Olympiad Tournament, hosted by The University of South Dakota will be held on March 27 on the Vermillion campus.

This year, in celebration of the olympiad's 20th anniversary, Dr. Paul Otto, founder and 10-year state director will be the keynote speaker at the 5 p.m. awards ceremony.�

Over 300 middle school and high school students representing schools throughout the state will be competing. Hosting this event requires the collaboration and support of many faculty, staff, and students across campus.

In addition, during the day there will be open house activities, which consist of demonstrations by members of USD's Physics Club, and the Outdoor Campus.

Teams participating this year are: Brandon Valley Middle and High School; Brookings High School; Mickelson Middle School, Brookings; Flandreau Middle and High School; Lennox Middle and High School; Madison High School; Mitchell Junior and Senior High School; Rapid City Stevens High School;� ������� Sacred Heart Middle School, Yankton; Spearfish Middle and High School; Timber Lake Middle School; Tiospa Zia Middle School; Vermillion Middle School; Yankton Middle and High School.

The events are determined at the national level.�For the state tournament, faculty, staff and students from USD organize and judge these events. For a brief description of the events, go to www.soinc.org.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>