City hall committee appointed by mayor

City hall committee appointed by mayor by David Lias Eleven Vermillion citizens will make up the new Vermillion City Hall Advisory Committee.

Mayor Roger Kozak appointed the individuals out of a list of 22 citizens who indicated their interest in serving.

Committee members are: Chairman Rich Braunstein, Laurence Brady, Bob Fuller, Jim Green, Jill LeCates, Neil Melby, Ted Muenster, Nikki Peters, Lloyd Rowland, Howard Willson and Alderman Dennis Zimmerman.

The advisory group will assist the city manager in making recommendations to the city council regarding a new or renovated city hall, and will assist in determining "general programmatic" needs of a new or refurbished city hall.

An architect will help the committee analyze location options and reallocation of old space, if any. City Manager Jim Patrick contacted over 60 architectural firms registered in South Dakota, and 12 firms responded by the deadline. Of those 12, five or six will be invited to prepare proposals for further review.

A committee member will be included on the review team made up of city staff that evaluates proposals. All members of the committee will have an opportunity to meet and interview the six firms.

"The community will have the opportunity to meet with the advisory committee and architectural firm during this evaluation period," Patrick said, "to express their ideas and needs for a new or refurbished city hall."

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>