Clubs Meckling Livestock 4-H Club meets

Since the 4-H building was busy we met in the classroom at the Armory Feb. 17. President Luke Heine led us in the Pledge of Allegiance and the 4-H Pledge. Roll call topic was favorite singer. Treasurer Brittany Bye gave the treasurer's report. Secretary Kelsy Fallan read last month's minutes. For old business we discussed how our community service and promotion projects from last month went. The members who attended the Kids in the Kitchen Workshop gave a short report on it. For new business we talked about the annual fruit sale fund raiser, where the money goes, and when and where to turn the orders in. We talked about dates and costs for traditional and teen 4-H camp. May 31 is the deadline for changing project enrollments at the Extension office. We selected our community service and promotion projects for the month; we are to bring suggestions of name, design, and someone to donate the money to for next month's meeting. Shannon Jepsen asked that anyone interested in judging at Little International in Brooking on March 19 contact Scott. Demonstrations were given by Elizabeth Bye � Fluffy the Marshmallow Bear, Jenny Bye � Ice Cream Sandwich Cake, and Brittany Bye � Puffy Lemon-Berry Pie. The meeting was adjourned and we had refreshments provided by this month's hosts, Brittany, Jennifer, and Elizabeth Bye. Our next meeting is March 18, at 6:30 p.m. at the 4-H Center.

NAJA committed to press freedom

Ron Walters, executive director of the Native American Journalists Association, brought local Rotarians meeting on Tuesday a status report on tribal free press in the United States. A recent arrival in Vermillion, the organization Walters serves is based in the Al Neuharth Media Center on the USD campus. A free press and the media is a relatively new phenomenon in Indian country, according to Walters, although there are roots dating back to the mid-1800s in both the Cherokee and Choctaw tribes of the southeast. The major leap forward came in 1968 with the extension of the Civil Rights Act to Native Americans, highlighting the guarantees of the First Amendment. Walters said that most tribal media outlets have been owned, operated and managed by individual tribes, and over the years there have been many hundreds of instances where tribal governments and officials have interfered with the concept of a free press. To counter such interference, two models have developed. The Navajo Times in New Mexico and Arizona has managed to increase its subscription and advertising base to a point where financial power has allowed it to operate independently of the Navajo tribe. The Cherokee Phoenix in Oklahoma has been able to work closely with the tribe to prove that a free press is truly friendly to good government, and the result is a media outlet that has earned its freedom within its tribal world. Unfortunately, according to Walters, the Navajo and Cherokee examples are among only a handful of Indian media outlets that can operate in a truly "free press" fashion. His organization is committed to improving an independent press in the Native American community through its variety of educational programs, including forums for its membership and internships for Indian students interested in journalism. Walters, a Hunkpapa Sioux from the Standing Rock reservation of North and South Dakota, expressed appreciation for a number of people, including his mentors since he entered the journalism field. He also thanked USD and the Freedom Forum Foundation for their commitment to the concept of a free press and their warm welcome to his organization since it arrived on the USD campus in 2003. Now NAJA hopes to partner with USD and its Contemporary Media and Journalism major to increase the number of Native Americans trained to staff both Indian and non-Indian media throughout the country. Rotary guests included Jim Abbott, Ray Chavez, Dana Gross-Rhode, Matt Moen, Meg Quintal, Chuck Trimble, Janine Vallie, Shannon White, Linda Wittrock, and a USD School of Business exchange student from Germany, Timo Seeber. Also present were four seniors from Vermillion High School � Ana Ackerman, Sonja Merrigan, Dan Pearson and Craig Powell.

Meeks visits Juno #44 chapter

Associate Grand Conductress, Glenda Meeks of Hermosa, made her official visit to Juno #44, O.E.S. Chapter March 13. A.G. Conductress conducted a school of instruction at 2 p.m. in the Masonic Temple. Worthy Matron Grace Brick and Worthy Patron Calvin Rosenbaum presided over the evening meeting. Introductions were conducted by Fran Moore and Marilyn Siecke as follows: General Grand Committee member Jim Gerlach of Flandreau; past grand matron Christie Peterson of Hermosa; Constance White of Parker; past grand patrons Richard Buechler, Charles Bryan and Archie Ireland of Yankton and Calvin Rosenbaum of Vermillion. Ellen Helming, grand conductress, and Faye Parkhill, grand Adah of Sioux Falls, four grand representatives, seven grand chapter committee members, five worthy matrons and worthy patrons, 25 past matrons and patrons and eight other guest stars were introduced. The candlelight service was performed by Dona Dee Peterson. Initiatory ceremony was exemplified by Audry Norby and Terri Skogsberg of Elk Point. Coin march was given to Shrine Hospital � Cleft Palate Institute. A.G. Conductress gave a short address. A monetary gift was given to the visiting instructor, Glenda. Evening lunch was served by Terri Horner, Betty McCambridge, Jack and Phyllis Noble and Beverly Orr. Past Matrons Club served the noon luncheon at the Temple. No-host supper was served at a local cafe. Juno's next meeting will be April 12. All Eastern Stars welcomed.

Seniors enjoy Spring season

Flocks of northbound geese, March winds, and pussy willows, are all signs of Spring. On 1 p.m. Tuesday, March 9, 12 seniors gathered at their stations to play Mexican Train Dominoes. The two engineers at the end of play were, Karine Amundson with 266 points and Marlene Amundson with 182 points. The Caboose riders today were Doris Schmidt, 463 points and Verle Lawrensen 404 points. Doris played one round with no train of her own! Thursday March 11, a cold blustery day, again, a dozen players! High counts went to Fritz Bartels and Fritz Leffler. Low counts went to Louie Fostvedt and Doris Schmidt.

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>